In My Father’s House

Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions: If it were not so, I would have told you, I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also. And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know. John 14:1-4

The setting is at the Passover feast, after Judas leaves to betray Jesus, Peter, another disciple, has just been told that he was going to deny Jesus three times.  Then, Jesus begins telling his disciples important things as he is preparing to be put to death, so that they won’t lose hope when He is gone.

What love Jesus has, that even knowing His disciples would fail Him, He wanted to comfort them concerning His death! 

First, Jesus tells them not to worry. Then, He tells them to believe in Him. Next, He says that in God’s house there are many mansions, and He would be preparing them a place, and that it was really true, He tells them He is going to return again, and take them to be with Him. Then He gives them more information: He has to leave, but would send a Comforter, the Holy Spirit, who would guide them in all truth. They would not be alone.

German Castle

Neushwanstein Castle in Germany

I recently watched a dvd of a documentary on the country of Germany.  It was a helicopter view of all the castles, and towns with old beautiful buildings and churches.  I thought of those many castles with all those rooms, and was thinking how it might be in heaven.  God’s house: many mansions, beautiful settings, light, joy, peace, and beauty, and best of all, getting to be with Jesus! How can my heart be troubled? 

When there is so much death, suffering, and sorrow, hopefully, we can take heart from Jesus’ words of comfort and hope.

Today would have been my mother’s birthday.  She passed away September 5, 2012.  She believed, and I know that these words give me comfort concerning her.  After I attended her funeral, the sky lit up with a beautiful pink vibrant sunset. Her favorite color was pink.  It was like God confirmed that my mom was with Him.  He was telling me not to worry, to take heart, – believe!

Thank you Lord for these words of comfort in the Bible.  Let them comfort others who are hurting too.

If you would like to know more about the German Castle, click here.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

