Be Still, and Know that I am God:

Psalm 46:10, that is a hard verse to follow.  I am not a “still” person.  I am a person who has to do things. In Luke, Chapter 10,  I think of the story of Mary and Martha.  Jesus goes to their home,and Martha is busy doing things, preparing for a feast, but Mary, sitting at Jesus’ feet, is enjoying His companionship.  Martha even goes as far to ask Jesus to tell Mary to help. But He instead tells Martha that she didn’t have to do so many things, that few things were needed, and Mary was doing the right thing.

How many of us neglect the right thing? To sit at the feet of Jesus and listen to Him, and enjoy His companionship is a far better place to be.  I have a hard time doing that too.  I do dishes, clean the floors, only to look behind me, and see the dogs have tipped over their water, and tracked through the house. Then, my son has eaten again, and there are new dishes.  Beds need to be made, The garden needs to be watered. Laundry needs to be folded.  Bills need to be paid.  How do I become “still”?

Chores are a renewable resource.  You never get them completely done.  

Jesus says in Psalm 23, that He will lead us beside the still waters. He will make us lie down in green pastures.  I need Jesus to make me do that.  

Help me to be still, and know that you are God,  

-Dawn-

 

Leave a Reply

