Fishers of Men

This is what my devotions were about,- being fishers of men.  It was about when Jesus called His first disciples.  They were on the Sea of Galilee, and Simon, and his brother Andrew, were casting nets, when Jesus told them to come follow Him, and He would make them fishers of men.  They immediately left their nets and followed Jesus. Jesus went a little ways further, and saw John and James.  They were preparing nets with their father, Zebedee, in a boat.  Jesus called them, and they left their father with the hired men, and followed Jesus.

I love that they didn’t question Jesus, they just followed Him immediately. When Jesus chose His disciples, they were a varied group of people.  Fishing was a profession that required faith to catch fish.  It required hard work, dedication, and teamwork.  

Peter took Jesus in his boat, so he could speak to a group of people on the shore. After speaking, Jesus tells Peter to put out into deep water. Jesus told him to let his nets down, and even though the fish weren’t there earlier in the night when Peter fished, because Jesus asked, Peter did let down his nets, and it required more than one boat to take in the haul. The boats were so full of fish, they almost sank! When Peter saw that miracle, he wanted Jesus to leave him because he was a sinful man.  Jesus reassured Peter, and told him not to be afraid, he would now fish for men. (Luke 5)

Jesus doesn’t care that we’ve been sinners,when He calls us.  He already knows that we are. In fact, He calls a lot of sinners to follow Him. (We are all sinners, and we lie if we say we have no sin.) He wants disciples who are willing to be taught by Him, willing to leave the familiar, for a lifelong adventure of fishing for men’s souls.  He is calling each one of us out of the boat, will we follow?  

It is hard to leave the things that are familiar, to step into the unknown.  It is frightening at times. Where Jesus went, things weren’t the best, they were actually pretty bad.  There was a bigger reason for the fishermen to follow Jesus than enjoying life and being happy. They would watch the miracles of Jesus giving sight to the blind, helping the lame to walk, watch Him casting out demons, giving deaf people the ability to hear, and seeing people raised from the dead. They would watch Him crucified, raised from the dead, and see Him before he rose up to Heaven.

Jesus was showing them the way to God, the way to eternal life, the way to live. Jesus has the answers we all need, He is everything we need, Friend, Savior, Shepherd, Physician, Helper, and Provider.  If we follow Him, we will not be disappointed. Life might not be easy when we do, but it will be worth it.  Keep the faith!

-Dawn-

 

4 thoughts on “Fishers of Men

  1. Your blog is great! I’m new to blogging and was hoping you could kindly visit my blog and comment on or like anything you found interesting?

    Like

    • I love your blog! You addressed so many issues and thoughts that are on the minds of many people. I didn’t know Aaron Swartz, and I’m glad you introduced him to me through your writing. I loved the comments of Tina Fey, on your post of Mean Girls. FGM is a sad and painful practice, a form of torture, and I’m glad you wrote about it. You did a terrific job of writing about controversial issues, like the Israel/Gaza war. Some of your posts were funny and uplifting, and made me think more deeply about the issues addressed. Thank you for sharing your blog with me. I would love to follow your posts, and read more of your interesting articles. You are a superb writer!

      Like

      • Hi Dawn, I’m not sure if my reply posted or not.. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog! I value all your kind words about my posts! I think your blog is immensely insightful and intriguing as I love to learn about Christianity and the Bible! I was wondering when you have a moment if you could be kind enough to copy your comment above onto my own blog so my friends can view your kind words? I would appreciate it greatly! Thanks again so much and I can’t wait to read your future posts!

        Like

  2. Rhea, I put this comment on your website, and wanted to thank you for your kind words too. I hope many will visit your site, as they will be rewarded with some fantastic writing and interesting posts. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

