Don’t Forget

But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.  The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance. 2 Peter 3:8,9.

The words eternity, forever, and indefinite are very hard for us to really comprehend. We thrive on time, and an end or beginning to things.  Morning, noon, and night determine patterns in our life. Night is usually a time for sleep, so we can refresh and energize ourselves for the next day. Day is a time to work, eat, and play while it is light. 

God’s time is so different from ours. Humans are the ones that designated times. We even differ on that idea. A Jewish Calendar is different from a Roman Calendar, and the Aztecs designed their own calendar.  At one time in world history, a year was three-hundred-sixty days instead of three-hundred-sixty-five and a quarter. We have daylight savings time, and time changes for some of us in the spring and fall. Seven years for a dog, are like one year for us. On Pluto, about two-hundred-fifty of our years, will make one year there.

I have given these examples, because I don’t understand the world outside of my time table. I am an impatient person.  I thrive on time.  If I tell someone I will see them at eight-o’clock a.m., I try really hard to be there at eight.  I start to get nervous, if I think I’ll be late.  I can feel my blood pressure rise.

There is nothing more frustrating to me, then someone not being where they said they would be at a certain time.  I have all kinds of thoughts that go through my mind about what might have made them late.  Was it an accident, did they lose their way, did their vehicle break down, or did they die? I can’t help it.  I shouldn’t let a clock run my life, but I do.  

So, Peter tells us not to forget that God’s time is different. I don’t have to worry, when I think He’s late, or not answering my prayer. He has heard me, and will do what is best in His time.  When people do evil things, He doesn’t punish them and take them from the earth immediately.  He gives them time to repent and acknowledge Him. He doesn’t want anyone to perish, but all to come to repentance. God’s ways are not my ways.  That is a wonderful thing!

Help me to remember that a day is like a thousand years to You, God, and a thousand years are like a day. Help me to remember that You are a patient God!  Thank you for being so dependable, and help me to acknowledge that Your time is based on eternity.

-Dawn-

Just an extra note: Yesterday, I was in such a hurry. I made a lot of grammatical errors in my Post about “Things Change”.  I had an appointment to pick up a person, then to go with my son to the Trail of the Hiawatha, near the Idaho/Montana border.  

It is a bike trail, around fifteen miles long, and I wanted to get there early. After living in this area for over twenty years, I thought I should see this marvelous piece of history.  Many years ago, the Old Milwaukee train ran through the mountains, and where the track ran, it was replaced with a bike trail The trail goes through the old tunnels and bridges, and has some of the most spectacular scenery in the World.  Along the way, there are historical markers that tell about the mining days, the fires of 1910, the silk trains, World War 2, and other things.

One marker told about some of the wrecks, and the trains that spilled grain.  The grain fermented and bears got drunk from it. Those bears could be seen by trainmen and campers in the area doing humorous things. 

It was a fun trail, and we had to return the equipment and bikes by 5:00 p.m. (Another time schedule), so we started pretty early.  Here is a link to the Trail of the Hiawatha in case you are visiting near Lookout Pass in Idaho. www.ridethehiawatha.com 

Here are some pictures: 

Hiawatha

ROUTE OF THE HIAWATHA

100_7939

St. Paul Tunnel

100_7952 100_7960 100_7963 100_7988 100_7989 100_7996 100_8000 100_8012

2 thoughts on “Don’t Forget

  1. Thanks for the message Dawn, it is one that I need to remember when I begin to let my life dictate my walk. I read through your other devotions as well, so great! Thank you for sharing.

    –Erik

    Like

  2. Erik, hope you are doing well! It was so nice to see the pictures that Sheree put on Facebook. Water skiing looked fun! I love using WordPress to write about my devotions. It helps me reinforce what I’ve read, and think of experiences that relate to what is being said.. Do you have a blog? You are a great writer, and I know I would be a follower of your posts if you did. I highly recommend WordPress. It is free and fun to use Congratulations on getting married! If you are ever out this way in the summer, I’ll take you to some fun places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

