Faith or Fear

Now there was a famine in the land, and Abram went down to Egypt to live there for a while because the famine was severe. As he was about to enter Egypt, he said to his wife Sarai, “I know what a beautiful woman you are. When the Egyptians see you, they will say, ‘This is his wife.’ Then they will kill me but will let you live. Say you are my sister, so that I will be treated well for your sake and my life will be spared because of you.” Genesis 12:10-13

This is an interesting part of Abram’s story.  Sarai is beautiful, and she immediately gets the attention of the Princes of Egypt.  They tell the Pharaoh about her, and the Pharaoh treats Abram really well because of Sarai.  Abram has sheep, oxen, donkeys, and menservants and maidservants. He seems to be enjoying the good life.

Then Pharaoh’s household begins to experience plagues. Pharaoh knows it is because of Sarai and Abram that he is experiencing these great plagues.  He confronts Abram, and asks why he did such a thing, because he might have taken Sarai as his wife. Then he sends them away from Egypt.  

Abram’s lie affected Pharaoh and his household.  It seemed that Abram was prospering from this lie at first.  But then, he and Sarai are found out, and are sent away. Lucky for Abram that Pharaoh didn’t take his life or punish him more severely for lying.

This makes me think of the consequences of fear.  It makes people lose faith, do the wrong things, and it makes us forget the awesome power of God.  Maybe this lie was part of God’s plan for Abram, maybe not.  Thankfully, God used it for good, and not for evil for Abram.  I wonder if the scenario would have been any different if Abram used faith rather than fear, or if this was the wrong thing for the right reasons, and God made it work for the plan He had for Abram?  

I don’t have all the answers, but fear has made me do things that made me less of a person.  I have a fear of speaking in public, of being with a large group of people. I have a fear of people knowing my past mistakes, and of knowing me personally. I don’t let people get too close. I have many fears of failing, and doing the wrong thing.  All these fears are bad.  It keeps me from making friends, from speaking to groups of people, from holding jobs, and from sharing my experiences to help others.  

How can fear be a good thing?  Well the fear of God makes us want to do the right thing to avoid punishment.  It keeps us from running into the street where there is traffic for fear of getting hurt. It keeps us from doing some foolish things, because of injury or death.  Fear helps us avoid injury and maybe that is what compelled Abram to lie? 

Can God still use the mistakes I’ve made from fear, for His Good? Yes He Can!!!! God already knows my weaknesses, and in those weaknesses, I will find His strength.  Blessed be the Name of the Lord!

I will try to have faith, not fear, with the Lord’s help.

Lord, give me the full armor of God, and help me to be bold for you.  Take away my fears, and use Your strength to accomplish great things in my life.  I acknowledge how great You are, and ask that You would direct my paths.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

