Faithful People

But without faith it is impossible to please Him: for he that cometh to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him………By faith Abraham, when he was called to go out into a place which he should after receive for an inheritance, obeyed; and he went out, not knowing whither he went. By faith he sojourned in the land of promise, as in a strange country, dwelling in tabernacles with Isaac and Jacob., The heirs with him of the same promise; For he looked for a city which hath foundations, whose builder and maker is God.  Through faith also Sara herself received strength to conceive seed, and was delivered of a child when she was past age, because she judged him faithful who had promised. Therefore sprang there even of one, and him as good as dead, so many as the stars of the sky in multitude, and as the sand which is by the sea shore innumerable. These all died in faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them afar off, and were persuaded of them, and were strangers and pilgrims on the earth. for they that say such things declare plainly that they seek a country. And truly, if they had been mindful of that country from whence they came out, they might have had opportunity to have returned. But now they desire a better country, that is, and heavenly; wherefore God is not ashamed to be called their God; for he hath prepared for them a city. Hebrews 11:6,8-16

Hebrews 11 lists some people that had faith: Abel, Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Sara, Isaac, Joseph, Moses, Rahab, Gideon, David, and more.  These were people whose events in the Old Testament proved them faithful to God in the midst of hardships and tribulation.  The last verse I wrote above, says God is not ashamed to be called their God.  These men and women are role models for us today. Their stories help to build our faith.

I can think of a story of faith in my own life. It was a wonderful thing God did for me.  In 1996, I nearly died from a ruptured organ, caused by a tumor in my body.  I was having a lot of problems before the doctors found this out.  My blood count was low, I was tired all the time, I had gained weight, and just didn’t feel good in general.  One day, I ended up in the emergency room, I was bleeding internally.  The doctor had to do surgery immediately to cauterize the wound.  They gave me blood that had been in the hospital’s refrigerator, and it was super cold. It made me the coldest I had ever been as they squeezed it into the IV.  I was whiter than the sheets that covered the hospital bed.  My husband didn’t even recognize me, as they wheeled me by him.

Before this happened, I had seen a local doctor who told me to have a hysterectomy, she said that I had trouble with fibroid tumors, and that a hysterectomy would take care of it.  I immediately cried, and told her that I would not have a hysterectomy, because I knew it was God’s will that I would have a child.  Even if I died, I would not have a hysterectomy.  I was thirty-two years old, and had been married five years without any children at the time.

I was, actually dying on the hospital bed in 1996.  A very good doctor performed a surgery that cauterized the organ that was causing me to bleed internally and saved my life. He also removed the tumor that was causing so much trouble. A year later I had my son.  

My son was in the ICU for two weeks after he was born.  He almost died too, and I made the pediatrician, who was a Jewish man, pray with me that my son would live. He lived!  My son is now a teenager, and I am so blessed!  God still does miracles, and he still hears our prayers.  We just have to listen and have faith.

My Son

My Son in 1998

Thank You God for being so faithful and loving toward us. Thank you for stories of faith that help us to believe.  Thank You that You know each one of us, what we need, and for providing so generously. You always do the right thing, even when we don’t understand. Thank You again and again for my son and Your Son.

-Dawn-

–  

Leave a Reply

