Comfort In Times Of Trouble:

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles,so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves received from God. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

Who do we have to comfort us in times of trouble?  Sometimes God sends people into our lives to get us through a certain experience.  He knows our pain, loneliness, fears, and trials we are experiencing.  

I have experienced a lot of pain in my life. I see so many people going through their own troubles and sorrows.  Some people seem like they’re doing terrific.  Then you find that they were hurting as much as you were, but just didn’t show it the same way you do.

Robin Williams always seemed to laugh and tell jokes. He had money, fame, and was the life of the party.  He must have been hurting on the inside to commit suicide?  I had a friend who always spoke encouraging words, and he tried to tell everyone about Jesus.  He was friendly, and I thought he had life pretty well figured out. I was deeply hurt to hear he took his life a few years ago.  Numbly I went to the funeral and grieved for this man and his family. It made me realize that no one is a stranger to trouble, even when they hide it well.

It is hard to be honest with others about the help we’ve received from God. We don’t feel comfortable talking about painful things. I used to share accounts of things that happened to me, but people made me feel less of a person. I felt victimized by those I wanted compassion from. It can be scary to open up to people about your experiences for fear of judgment or condemnation. How then will we be able to help others with the comfort we received ourselves from God?

Lord, help me to help others, and take away my fear of rejection.  My aim and goal is to please You.  Other people have no right to victimize people who want to help and do the right thing.  If they want to feel bigger by making me feel smaller, than help me to know that you are Almighty God who is within me. In my weakness, Your strength is displayed.  Thank You Lord!

Compassion goes a long way with someone who is hurting.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

