Where Does My Help Come From?

I lift up my eyes to the mountains —  where does my help come from?  My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.  He will not let your foot slip — he who watches over you will not slumber, indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. Psalm 121:1-4

This is very comforting to know, that God doesn’t sleep.  He’s on the job 24-7.

I live in the mountains.  When I look out my kitchen window, I can see a large peak on the Montana, Idaho border. Mountains are majestic.  Some are rugged and steep and reach to the sky with jagged protrusions.  To look for the summit, you have to tilt your head up.  In Psalms, the writer says he looks up, and knows his help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

The Bible also tells us the God is not far from any of us.  When we draw near to Him, He will draw near to us.  

When I need help, I go to the Lord.  He is the only one that I can say is closer than a brother and an ever-present help in times of trouble.  God is the God of the Old Testament and the New.  He is the same yesterday, today, and forever.  He shows his glory and strength in nature.  Earthquakes, Hurricanes, Volcanoes, Lightning, how the Oceans roar, make me think of God’s strength displayed.  Those things make me feel small, insignificant.  I could be “wiped out” in a moment by any of those things. 

Jesus showed He has power over all the things I’m concerned about.  He calmed the sea and the wind, as He spoke, “Peace! Be Still!”. He raised Lazarus from the grave. When He called Lazarus’s name from the tomb, Lazarus walked out in all his grave clothes.  There was the stench of death, but Jesus had the power to create the sweet aroma of life again. Jesus showed that He had the power to heal when he gave the blind sight; the deaf the ability to hear; the lame the right to walk again; the lepers the right to live again without disease and pain.  

With man, things are impossible, but with God, all things are possible!

I serve an awesome God!  I am aware of His great love, mercy, forgiveness, healing, and restoration.  I am intrigued by the things He has created.  Wow! What an amazing God! 

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

