The Grumble Box

For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure. Do all things without murmurings and disputings (grumbling or complaining); That you may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world;Holding forth the word of life; that I may rejoice in the day of Christ, that I have not run in vain, neither laboured in vain. Philippians 2:13-16 

The song that starts, I will enter His gates with thanksgiving in my heart, I will enter His courts with praise…, comes to mind when I read this passage.  Words are so important.  Did you know we will give an account to God for every idle word we’ve spoken?

Matthew 12:36,37 states:

36 But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.

37 For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.

The tongue is hard to bridle.  I don’t know about you, but I have been quick to speak, and slow to listen, instead of the other way around.

My husband has been much better than I about being slow to speak. He thinks about how he will phrase something before he talks. It is a gift. It has kept us from arguing, because he usually refuses to converse in anger.

Today, my devotions were a challenge to go through the day without grumbling or complaining. The author said how difficult it was to do.  It is a great challenge. He said we had to start somewhere, even with an hour, a half day, a day, a week, or longer.  

One year, my family read a devotions about a grumbling box.  The author said that we should put a box or jar in a place where it will be seen, and label it, “Grumbling Box”.  Every time someone grumbled, they had to put in a quarter.  It made us aware of when we grumbled, and we had a pretty good booty by the end of the year!  

It didn’t stop us from complaining or grumbling, but it made us aware of when we did it. Our words are important. We should speak blessings, not curses.  There is another verse that says, “A kind answer turns away wrath.” Just think how joyful we would be to have good words that spring forth from our mouths, and let God take care of the wrath.

Let’s enter His gates with thanksgiving in our hearts!

Lord, let Your will be done in my life.  Help me to speak encouraging, uplifting, joyful words. I want to be a light in this world, Fill me with words of Life. Let Your praises be in my mouth, and let me speak of Your glory all the day!

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

