Are we in the Light?

Anyone who claims to be in the light but hates a brother or sister is still in the darkness. Anyone who loves their brother and sister lives in the light and there is nothing in them to make them stumble. 1 John 2:9-10

This is a verse that convicts me. Hate is a such a stumbling block. Hate allows for darkness, making it hard to see the light and truth  It keeps us from being close to others. I am guilty of allowing pain and hurt to cloud my judgment of love. I have allowed that seed of hate to spring up and it robbed me of relationships. 

Cain comes to my mind.  His story is told in Genesis.  He was Adam and Eve’s first son. He was jealous of his brother Abel, because God was pleased with Abel’s offering , but not his. Genesis 4 verse 6 is a conversation between God and Cain: Then the Lord said to Cain, “Why are you angry? Why is your face downcast? If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.” Cain killed his brother. He allowed hate to master over him.

It is so hard to rule over sin, and it has become the master of many.  

The verse in 1 John is a reminder to love our sisters and brothers.  It is a good reminder. I need to work harder at showing love to my sisters and brothers.

Lord, help me to love, not just when it’s easy , but when it’s hard, like You loved us — while we were still in our sins. Help me to put aside all bitterness, anger, and rage. Thank You for Your love, like a healing balm, let it heal the relationships with my sisters and brothers. Help me to be in the light, and not let hate make me stumble.  Lord, You tell us to hate what is evil, and cling to what is good.  Let us put hate where it belongs, and love where it belongs. In Jesus Name, Amen!

-Dawn-

 

Leave a Reply

