Be Content:

Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as you have: for he hath said, I will never leave you or forsake you. So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me. Hebrews 13:5,6

True contentment is knowing that the Lord will be with us always, and will help us.  We do not have to be stressed out about anything.  

I know that I do get stressed, and feel overwhelmed, even though I am not suppose to.  It doesn’t do me any good. I know what I should do, and that is to be content, knowing that whatever trouble there is, God will see me through.  In my weakness, I will find his strength.

It might look like everything in my life is great and perfect.  It isn’t.  I am trying to build up my faith by putting God’s word in my heart.  My daily devotions have always given me something to learn from.  I have had a very troubled life, and without God’s help, I would not be the person I am.  I needed the Lord.  I asked for His help, and He was there for me.

I love the story in the Bible where Peter sees Jesus walking on the water.  He tells Jesus that if it is really Him, to let him walk out to him on the water.  Peter gets out of the boat, starts to walk toward Jesus, but then he sees the waves and hears the boisterous wind. He starts to sink, and calls out to Jesus to help him.  The Bible says that Jesus Immediately reached out to help him. 

I see a few things there. Peter was willing to get out of the boat and meet Jesus out on the water. I also see that Peter was not afraid to ask for help when he needed it.  I also see the willingness of Jesus to act immediately on Peter’s request to save him.  Jesus is so willing to meet needs of those who need help.  He desires that we ask for that help too. We should never be too proud to ask Jesus for what we need. That is a comfort, and a reason to be content.

Lord, help me to be content with what I have, and to know that you will help me.  I know that You will never leave me. You never give up on me.  Thank You for everything!

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

