Exodus 20:7

Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God on vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain. Exodus 20:7

I always think of how a short verse can say so much. To take God’s name in vain is a serious act. This verse says the LORD will not hold him guiltless who does this.  

Have you watched many current movies lately?  My son loves Marvel movies, and action movies about Heroes. Many of the movie actors today speak swear words, and take God’s name in vain frequently. Even the beautiful young actresses misuse God’s name. Sometimes, there isn’t even a warning to the audience that speech like this will be present in the movie.  I am offended when I hear actors use language that degrades the name of God.

How would you feel if someone you loved had a name that was misused by someone else, said it as a swear word, or in anger? It is offensive! You want to stand up for your loved one. It feels like a terrible violation to the one you care about. You want to tell the person to stop doing it. 

God is supreme, and is over all creation.  He deserves our honor and respect.  Even if one doesn’t want to believe that He exists, why would they want to offend the people that do believe He exists?  What are they gaining?  I don’t want to hear offensive statements or words about the one I love and hold so dear. God saved me! He is the love of my life. 

The words we speak are important.  They do matter.  

When I was a kid, it was common to hear, “Sticks and stones will break my bones, but words can never hurt me.”  It is a good philosophy, but that statement is not true.  False accusations have imprisoned and killed people.  Demeaning words have crippled young minds, and hurtful words can last a lifetime, killing good relationships.  

In the Islamic religion, people have been put to death for defaming Allah or Muhammad.  For some reason, some people think it is okay to offend Christians.  I feel just as hurt as a Muslim, when Bibles are burned, and the name of my God is misused.  However, as a Christian, I don’t have to kill someone for offending my God. As this verse states, God will not hold him guiltless who does this. Vengeance is His, not mine.  I will leave room for God’s wrath, and try to live righteously.  True religion is to help the poor and widows, and to keep one’s self from being polluted by the world.

Lord, keep me from misusing your precious name.  I know that words are important.  Help me to speak Godly, uplifting, encouraging words. Help me to also not be afraid to speak the truth. Let my words be fitting for each conversation. Thank You! P.S. Please forgive me when I fail. Amen.

-Dawn-

 

Leave a Reply

