REST

“Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work: But the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy god: in it thou shalt not do any work,…..For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.” Exodus 20:9-11 KJV

A recap of the first three commandments in present day might be understood that God says He is our Creator; we don’t have to look anywhere else, and that we don’t have to find anything else to substitute Him. He wants us to respect His name. He commands that we acknowledge Him first, and that we honor Him above all else.

This fourth commandment tells us to work, but also to take time to rest. He has provided a day for us to take it easy.  

How hard it is to rest! There always seems to be something that distracts me from resting. Why is it a command from God?  

I think He knew that if we didn’t take time to “recharge our batteries”, we would become slow to think and act improperly. When I get tired, I get grumpy, and if I am super tired, I can’t even think clearly.  I feel so much better when I am rested. Things don’t seem to bother me as much. I want to do things and work after I have rested. Resting gives me time to think about the things I need to do, and organize my time and thoughts to do them.  Resting is so good for a person! This is a commandment for our physical and mental benefit. How good it feels to be refreshed and renewed!

Notice how the word rest is in “Restored”. God is the author of Rest. He rested from all His work. He wants us to enjoy the benefits of rest too. 

I remember growing up when the law changed to allow for Sunday sales in North Dakota.  It used to be in the United States that you couldn’t buy things on Sunday.  A gas station might be open, and the hospital, maybe a restaurant, but mostly everything was closed. You bought what you needed before Sunday.

I don’t think opening things up for business on Sunday helped our country much.  People worked more, made less, items went up in cost, and many companies have closed their businesses for cheaper production overseas.  I wonder if a significant study has been done on “Sunday Opening” to see how it has affected our country?

Israel still embraces the Sabbath. There is an excellent article online: http://www.cbn.com/cbnnews/insideisrael/2012/July/Remember-the-Sabbath-day-to-keep-it-holy/  In it, A CBN reporter, Tzippe Barrow, talks about how different groups of Jewish people keep the Sabbath. It sets Israel apart from other nations, and helps both young and old to rejuvenate from their activities during the week.

Jesus healed on the Sabbath, picked wheat from a field on the Sabbath, and told the religious leaders that the Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath.  We need to be careful that we don’t “overdo” the concept of the Sabbath, but we also have to rest as God commands.  It is really for our benefit.  

Mark 2:26-28 

26 In the days of Abiathar the high priest, he entered the house of God and ate the consecrated bread, which is lawful only for priests to eat. And he also gave some to his companions.”

27 Then he said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath.28 So the Son of Man is Lord even of the Sabbath.”

I would like to write a more passionate devotional, but I feel ignorant when it comes to understanding some of the concepts of the Commandments, as in the Unites States, we have been “dumbed down” about the scriptures, and how to Worship God.  Many of our churches have become a place of entertainment and “telling us what our itching ears want to hear”.

I don’t want to be a lukewarm Christian. I want to understand, and build my faith, and try to put the pieces of the faith puzzle together with God’s help.  I don’t have all the answers, but I know Who does. If He tells me to rest, I am going to try harder to take time out to rest more. It can only be good.

Lord, help me to rest. I want to know You. I might never understand how to live the right way, unless You show me. You know my heart and my willingness to learn.  Please give me guidance and wisdom to follow You in a way that is pleasing to You.

-Dawn-

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

