Writing 101: 1st lesson

Tomorrow, I will finish the last post in a series of the Ten Commandments. I am taking part in a Writing 101 course on WordPress, and this was the first exercise to work on today:

“To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.

Keep typing (or scribbling, if you prefer to handwrite for this exercise) until your twenty minutes are up. It doesn’t matter if what you write is incomplete, or nonsense, or not worthy of the “Publish” button.

And for your first twist? Publish this stream-of-consciousness post on your blog.”


Here is my post for Writing 101:

First, I have writer’s block, but I thought of my earlier post on neighbors, and not to falsely accuse them.  The story I read about Germany after World War 2 has stuck with me. I can’t seem to get it out of my thoughts. Since the U.S. was on the winning side, we only saw and heard about the victory of winning. There were lots of losers in that war. Not just the victims of Hitler, but the citizens of Germany.  They conquered territory, and invented machines, guns, airships, and more. They were thriving in ingenuity before they were the ones oppressed and beaten down. Pride goes before a fall, comes to mind.

I’m thinking about the sadness of defeat. There were no real winners in World War 2. Many died, and were tortured, and those things don’t go away in a lifetime. I guess I am thinking of how war is devastating. History records many wars. I don’t think there has ever been real peace on this earth, unless it was in the Garden of Eden, way before my time.

The Japanese were mercilessly struck down with the atomic bomb. The explosion of that magnitude should never be repeated. The Native Americans in the 1800’s experienced devastation when the herds of buffalo were killed. I picture Buffalo Bill standing, full of pride, on top of the hides, and then see the pictures of many Native Americans starving in black and white pictures, where I can feel the coldness that is indescribable because there is no color to the lifeless people on the printed picture.

I think of the things going on in our world today. ISIS has mercilessly killed many people, by such torture unimaginable. I don’t want war, but then I think who will stop these people that are hurting others with their desire for control. I think of my own community, and war to keep our property that is being grabbed by what is supposed to be an agency claiming to protect the environment.

I think of the war on children, where the most innocent are being affected by immorality. Their young minds forced to accept political agendas that are only meant to harm and not help the family unit. I guess I have so much on my mind and in my heart, that I could write volumes. I don’t think anyone would listen, or read my writing, because to some, it would be offensive, and to others, too powerful in meaning to want to deal with. I think what I write must be on everyone’s mind, but I hear deafening silence from those afraid to speak, “Have we lost our freedom?
I feel that I am being swallowed up in an agenda formed by people who don’t represent my values. Am I like the Native American, the German, the Japanese, a conquered foe in the eyes of the World. If I become timid, afraid to stand for what I believe in, then I have become defeated. Freedom is a just cause, and one I think is worth being a radical about.

Did those previous soldiers who won or lost battles feel that their cause was just? I could ramble on, but there are consequences to silence, just as there are consequences to speaking.

I think of the trainloads of Jews, crying out, hoping for someone to listen, during WW2. It has been said that the congregations in churches would sing louder to drown out the sounds of the Jews. Will people try to drown out my concerns with their loud, arrogant speeches? Will they refuse to listen, as our nation is in danger of being destroyed?

As for me, I have to write and speak. It is in my nature. I cannot be silent. Those who are needing help, are looking for hope that someone hears. I hear.

Leave a Reply

