Writing 101; Point of View (Winston)

A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

Today’s twist: write the scene from three different points of view: from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.

Angie told me that a walk in the park was what I needed today. Her hand is so warm in mine as we stroll under the oak trees. It would be great if I didn’t have to think of the vet bill, and losing Winston. Life is sure going to be different without the pooch. He sure was cute with all his antics. I haven’t cried in years, and now Angie is going to see the tears. I just can’t hide them, especially seeing that lady knit that sweater on the bench. Winston always had a way to make me smile, even when I had a bad day. He was there to greet me at the door. He would try and jump in the car to go for a ride. He would then bark until I picked him up and put him in the car. He rode on the seat content, like I was his chauffeur,  and he was the President. He barked at everything out the living room window as he sat on the couch. What a guard dog, small as he was! His wet tongue always slobbered on me — his little affectionate kisses. I suppose after eleven years, he was bound to make an impact on us. Why do dogs have to grab hold of your heart and make you think of them as your kids? I wonder how Angie feels? She hasn’t said a word.

My husband just loved that dog! Winston was the most wonderful pet we could have had these past years. He made our life so special. Since I couldn’t have children, Winston filled the lonely places in my heart. God must surely have a place for Winston. He showed me so much love. He liked to sit by my feet as I did the dishes. He ran from the vacuum, expecting me to suck him up at any time. Winston, that playful dog, was such a joy! I miss him.

With fall in the air, I can’t help but think of him with that little red sweater on — the one mom knit for him, it was so funny. I remember she originally made it for the four-year old boy down the block. Then she washed it. Boy, did it shrink! I remember how she modified it, and presto, a doggy sweater. Winston loved parading around in it. In fact, that lady on the bench is knitting one similar to it. I bet that’s the memory that made Ben start sobbing. Winston would lay on our feet at the end of our bed, warming our feet and our hearts. What will we do without him?

My, that couple holding hands must be having some trouble. I wonder what it could be? They seem to be looking my way, watching me knit this sweater. With how young they are, they should be happy. Life must have given them a heavy load though. Why, that man looks like he’s crying. Lord, help that young man. I don’t know what his trouble could be. If I could fix it, I sure would. Only You can know what’s wrong. Help them carry the burden, whatever it is. Well, I’ll be finished with this sweater for little Muffy today. I am so thankful that dog has been my constant companion. I’d be so lonesome without her. I think she’s going to love this red sweater when I’m finished. I don’t know what I would do without my little Muffy.

3 thoughts on “Writing 101; Point of View (Winston)

    • I hope you have a blessed day too! I agree, this was a tough assignment. It took me a while.
      I read yours. You definitely got 3 different points of view on how to get to the park. It was a good lesson.

      Like

      • Thanks, Dawn. I wasn’t sure if that was really what they were asking for, and I had forgotten what 2nd person pov was. I googled it and found some sites that gave examples. It helped.
        Aleta Kay (lovessiamese)

        Like

Leave a Reply

