Should Light be Hidden?

And he said unto them, “Is a candle brought to be put under a bushel, or under a bed? and not to be set on a candlestick? For there is nothing hid, which shall not be manifested; neither was any thing kept secret, but that it should come abroad. If any man have ears to hear, let him hear. Mark 4:21-23”

A lot is being said in these verses. It wouldn’t make sense to have light and hide it. It was meant to shine!

Also, if we are trying to hide things, it usually becomes known.

In Poor Richards Almanac, by Benjamin Franklin, one of the proverbs he wrote was, “A secret will be kept among three, if two of them are dead.” It is a little morbid, but true.

The point is that if we are hiding things from other people, or from God, it will eventually be made known.

If we have the light, we shouldn’t be hiding it. It too will be made manifest.

I have a cute story to tell of an older couple I knew a long time ago. Charlie was sick, and in his late 70’s. His wife wanted me to look after him while she ran some errands. I was about nineteen-years-old at the time.

Louella, Charlie’s wife, had tried to get Charlie to believe in the Lord, but he would refuse to listen. He didn’t go to church.

I liked Charlie, so I agreed to take care of him for the evening.

Charlie told me about dating Louella, when they were young. He said he got his brother to climb a tree, while he courted Louella below it, in the moonlight. Charlie looked up towards heaven, and said,”Heaven, heaven up above, shall I kiss the one I love?”

His brother in the tree, yelled down, “Sinner, sinner down below, pucker up and let her go!”

I laughed until my sides hurt! What a great joke to play on your fiance’!

I asked Charlie why he never gave his life to the Lord?

He replied, “I have, but I just don’t want Louella to know, or I’ll never hear the end of it.”

My point is that sometimes people don’t tell us everything, and we don’t tell them everything, but the truth wins in the end.

Thank You, Lord, that You know the heart and the truth. Please help my light to shine, and help me not to hide it, especially when the light would be so helpful in all the darkness of the world. Thank You that Your words go forth no matter what, and You expose sin, and righteousness. You are wonderful! Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “Should Light be Hidden?

  1. “…a light cannot be lit and then hidden. It is put upon a lampstand to give light to the whole room…”
    Let your light, through your actions, always shine. It’s the only “bible” some people will read!

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

