Writing 101: My Greatest Treasure

For the last post in this series of Writing 101, we are to write about our greatest treasure that we have found.

As a Christian, I would have to say that faith in Christ is my greatest treasure.

I have been a broken person. Without Christ, I would have remained broken. All the bad, all the things I did wrong, all the things done to me, would have put me in an early grave.

After accepting Jesus, I could understand why bad things happened. Those things brought me to the cross, a place where I met Jesus. He was also broken, beaten, bruised, and tortured. He understood my condition. There is nothing hidden from Him. The knowledge of Him was like a light that exposed everything wrong with me. I needed a Savior. There was absolutely no doubt about that! He is the only one that was able to conquer death and forgive sins.

He was the only one able to help me and save me. No one else could lift the burden of guilt and shame for my shattered past, and lift me out of it. He brought me into His loving arms, and lifted me out of the pit of despair.

When I started reading about who Jesus is, I fell in love with Him. He became everything to me.

After I had my own son, I really could understand God’s enormous love for me, in allowing His son to suffer and die for me.

My life was corrupted by sin. Jesus was my only remedy.

I don’t know where I would be without Him. It would not be good.

Jesus is by far, my greatest treasure. He brought me into a heavenly kingdom, showed me love, when I was unlovely, and saved me by grace. He is the Son of God. He didn’t have to care about me, but He did. I know that Jesus lives, that He rose from the dead, and that He is preparing a place for me.

Matthew 13 45,46, states that the kingdom of heaven is the most valuable possession one can have:

45 Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto a merchant man, seeking goodly pearls:

46 Who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had, and bought it.

John Bunyan’s story, “The Pilgrim’s Progress”, explains our Christian Life. It is not a one time event. It is a lifelong walk with Jesus. Once you find Him, you become a disciple, following Him as best you can. It is not an easy walk at times, and our faith is not perfected until we are resurrected.

My faith gave me purpose, hope, assurance. It made me alive, when I was dead in sins. I have no greater prize than Jesus!

Leave a Reply

