From Vile to Glorious!

For our conversation is in heaven: from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ: Who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, according to the working whereby he is able even to subdue all things unto himself. Philippians 4:20,21

As Christians, we eagerly await the return of our Savior!

I can’t wait until my vile body will be fashioned into something like Jesus’s glorious body!

I think of yesterday’s post, that if Jesus can use dirt and mud to make spittle that can help make a blind man see, I guess he can take a sinner like me, and make a new glorious creation! The last part of this verse tells us that He is able to subdue all things unto Himself! He has the power and ability to do everything. What is impossible with man, is possible with God!

The Bible reminds us to leave the past behind, and press on toward the goal ahead.

There are so many things that I have done in my past, that I get so discouraged when I think about them. Those bad memories make for really bad days. I need to think about ‘forgetting the past’, and pressing on ahead. That is super-hard to do. If I take anything from my past, it is the understanding that I sinned, and needed Jesus Christ to save me.

I can be assured that I am forgiven. The Bible tells us that if we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. (my 911 verse, 1 John 1:9)

This must be the issue Jesus talked about when He told us not to put new wine into old wine skins, as they would burst. To accept Jesus’s forgiveness, but to keep living a defeated life, because of our past, would not be very effective for a Christian. How can we be fully free, but enslaved by guilt?

If Jesus forgives our past, we should try to forgive ourselves too, and use those past sins to remind us only of the forgiveness, grace, and mercy of Christ!

Let’s eagerly await the return of Christ, and keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, and focused ahead not behind!

Dear Lord, I’ve accepted Your forgiveness, but I have had a hard time forgiving myself. I pray for Your help in this. I know You want us to live an abundant life. It is hard to do that when I think of what I’ve done, and not about what You’ve done. Help me to focus on You and not me. I know one day, that you will make this vile body a glorious one, because You said so, and You can do it. Help me to live redeemed, not condemned. Thank You!

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

