The Body needs Help

And whether one member suffer, all the members suffer with it; or one member be honoured, all the members rejoice with it. 1 Corinthians 12:26

The world is experiencing a lot of trouble. Yet, in the darkest places, Christians have the opportunity to shine the greatest light. Jesus said the world would hate us because it hated Him.

I was fortunate, that when I was in my early twenties, I attended a small town church that was vibrant and alive with Christ. I was new to town, and attended there, to ‘try’ it out. An older woman took me under her wings, made me feel welcome, and showered me with useful information about the town and church.

If she hadn’t reached out to me, I might not have returned. One person’s welcoming attitude made a difference!

These ladies prayed for me, and they were such an encouragement. They invited me to their homes, and to events at the church. They befriended me.

It is so important to pray for and to encourage the members of the body of Christ.

Jesus mentions that because of many problems and sins in the world, our faith can harden and become cold:

Matthew 24:11-13 (KJV)

11 And many false prophets shall rise, and shall deceive many.

12 And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold.

13 But he that shall endure unto the end, the same shall be saved.

It really helps to have people come around us in difficulties, and pray for us, in order to keep our faith strong. We need people to remind us of what God’s word says. What a difference encouragement makes! We sometimes need help to endure to the end.

Dear Lord, please help my brothers and sisters to stay close to You, Draw near to them. Protect their hearts and minds. Help us to follow You. Please give us the armor that we need to live in this difficult world. Help us to be encouraging instead of discouraging. In Jesus’s name, Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “The Body needs Help

Leave a Reply

