Our Righteous Advocate:

My little children, these things write I unto you, that ye sin not. And if any man sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous: And he is the propitiation for our sins: and not for our’s only, but also for the sins of the whole world. 1 John 2:1,2 (KJV)

I noticed in this verse what sets Christianity apart from a lot of religions. God is willing to forgive our infractions through Christ, and knows we cannot follow the law to perfection.

Religion is man’s way to reach God, and Christianity is God’s way of reaching man. That is what I think of when I read these verses.

We are told by John, not to sin. Then the magnificent words that follow – ‘and if any man sin’. Basically, it is telling us not to sin, but if we do — we have an advocate, Jesus Christ.

Then, not only is Jesus the propitiation for our sins, but for the sins of the whole world!

If I hadn’t noticed what a sinner I was, I wouldn’t have found the need to cling to verses such as these. I need to be reminded time and again that my sins have been forgiven. I need continuous confirmation that Jesus has appeased God through His sacrifice, on my behalf.

When we feel condemned, this is a good verse to speak against the enemy of our minds. We have an advocate who is at the right hand of God, interceding on our behalf. Forgiveness is a reason for rejoicing! Jesus was victorious over the guilt, the condemnation, the burden of our sins!

Propitiation could be defined as an atoning sacrifice that appeased God. God is just, and cannot allow sin to go unpunished. Jesus took the punishment we all deserved. Now, Jesus has the power to intercede on our behalf, and fix our broken relationship with our Holy God.

Thank You, Jesus, for fixing the broken, sinful condition of so many souls, including mine. Thank You for mercy, forgiveness, redemption, healing, and love. I so appreciate that You intercede on my behalf, and that You have the power to forgive my sins. What a wonderful friend, savior, help, and physician, you have been to me! I give You honor, praise, and glory! Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “Our Righteous Advocate:

Leave a Reply

