Pray Always, and Faint Not:

Oahu, Hawaii Lighthouse

                                   Makapu’u  Lighthouse, Oahu, Hawaii

And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint;

Saying, “There was in a city a judge,  which feared not God, neither regarded man: and there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, ‘Avenge me of mine adversary.’ And he would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself, ‘Though I fear not God, nor regard man: Yet because this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.'”

And the Lord said, “Hear what the unjust judge saith. And shall not God avenge his own elect which cry day and night unto him though he bear long with them? I tell you that he will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless, when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth? Luke 18:1-9 

Before the story, Luke tells us that Jesus told this parable for a reason– it would teach men to pray always, and that they should not become weary of praying.

The judge in the parable is not even a God-fearing judge. He really doesn’t care about justice. Yet, this woman with her constant request troubles him, and he finally avenges her adversary.  He says that if he doesn’t give in to her request, she will wear him down.

Then, Jesus tells us that God will hear us pray, and will avenge his own elect who cry day and night unto him. We will receive justice quickly.

Finally, there is a sad note, as Jesus wonders if he will find any faith on earth when He returns?

It is a reminder to me, as there is much to pray about!

I am not nearly praying enough for my country’s leaders, my Christian brothers and sisters, for this generation to be delivered from evil, for salvation of the lost. I could do more.

I will try to be more faithful about praying fervently.

Honestly, I have been very lukewarm in many of my talks with God.

This parable is a great lesson for all of us who profess to be Christians. Let’s pray, and not become weary of doing so.

Dear Lord, help me to pray with passion and concern and love. You taught us how to pray.– I acknowledge You, Oh God! You are wonderful and holy. I pray for Your kingdom to come and for Your will to be done on earth as it is in heaven. I pray for my daily needs to be met, and for my sins to be forgiven, as I forgive all who have wronged me. Lead me not into temptation, but deliver me from evil. Yours is the kingdom, the power, and the glory forever and ever! Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

