Like Peter,

But he began to curse and to swear, saying, I know not this man of whom ye speak. And the second time the cock crew. And Peter called to mind the word that Jesus said unto him, Before the cock crow twice, thou shalt deny me thrice. And when he thought thereon, he wept. St. Mark 14:71,72

I understand Peter.

I knew about Jesus. He was a miracle worker. He healed the sick, raised the dead, forgave sinners, changed water into wine, and fed thousands with a few loaves of bread, and a couple fish.

As a young child, I don’t think you had to tell me about Jesus. I knew he was there.

But, as life progressed, and things got difficult, and I couldn’t understand what was happening, like Peter, I denied Christ.

I wondered if He was that powerful man that I had heard of, because He didn’t seem to be displaying that power in my life when I needed it. I doubted He could be there. I went as far as to deny He was my Lord.

Like Peter, I so regret that I felt that way.

I was rebellious as a teen. I hurt a lot of people.

Like Peter, Jesus sat on the shore of my life, waiting for me to see Him, and then gave me the opportunity to tell Him that I loved Him multiple times. He washed away my sins. He displayed His power in my life.

Like Peter, I still weep when I think of the time I wasted away from the Lord. When I think of the poor decisions I’ve made in life, I am heart-broken.

Like Peter, I’ve been forgiven of so much, and know that I am a sinner, forgiven by the glorious grace of God, through Jesus Christ!

Like Peter, I do a lot of foolish things, and sometimes have little faith, but I am a work in progress.

Thank You, Jesus, for having such love and patience. I am so thankful that You made Peter Your disciple, and shared his human mistakes with us. You showed me that You forgave Peter, gave Him the opportunity to repent, and then made him a great witness for You. Help me to live a life that will please You. Jesus, You are worthy of praise, and glory, and honor! I do love You!!!

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

