Today:

Boast not thyself of to morrow; for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth. Proverbs 27:1 (KJV)

A while ago, my son watched the movie, “Kung Fu Panda”. I enjoyed the part where the Panda is told that yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift, and that is why it is called ‘the present’.

We’ve all probably heard the saying, “Don’t count your chickens before they hatch.”

There are more sayings about thinking too far ahead, but the verse in Proverbs says it well.

There is a parable that Jesus told in the New Testament, about a man who was doing so well with harvesting grain, that he planned to build more barns, but that night, his life was required of him.

Luke 12: 

18 “Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. 19 And I’ll say to myself, “You have plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry.”’

20 “But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you.Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?’

21 “This is how it will be with whoever stores up things for themselves but is not rich toward God.”

Another favorite of mine:

Matthew 6:

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

i have been fasting and praying today. I read the first chapter in Isaiah, yesterday, it struck me how closely the United States currently parallels the actions of Israel during that time. I have been very saddened by the events happening in the world. I felt compelled to pray fervently for God to intervene in the affairs of our leadership and in our nation. We definitely have some problems in the USA.

Verses, such as this one in Proverbs, remind me to live my best today. I might not have tomorrow, and cannot do anything about my past. I have the gift of life today. I need to live it well.

Thank You, God, for this beautiful day that You’ve made. Thank You for Your forgiveness and mercy. I know that Your Kingdom will come, and Your will be done, You’ve provided me with the things I need, and I am thankful. Please forgive me of all my sins. I also forgive others who have sinned against me. Keep me from temptation, and deliver me from evil. Yours is the Kingdom, Power, and Glory, always, amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “Today:

  1. I am soooo thankful for you and your devotions. For the past couple of months I have been so overwhelmed with e-mails and internet responsibilities, I have allowed the rest of my life to get out of balance. Thank you for your devotions that help me reflect on my relationship with God. Please pray that I will get back into the prayer and devotional life I used to have with our Lord. There are still so many things to catch up on from being away this summer and not getting our mail until we got back. There are birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, and distant friends to catch up with. There are documents that need to be scanned and shredded. I need to get back to working on my family tree, and that of my mother-in-law as well. The chaos in my life is reflected in my housekeeping. Thanks for listening. Please pray for me.

    Like

    • Aleta, I love reading your posts too!
      Mending Fences was a terrific book! I really enjoyed reading it. Thank you for making it available on Amazon. I reallyI hope you have a blessed Thanksgiving, and a peaceful, not stressful, Holiday season!

      Like

Leave a Reply

