Preaching with Prophecy:

Because you disheartened the righteous with your lies, when I had brought them no grief, and because you encouraged the wicked not to turn from their evil ways and so save their lives, therefore you will no longer see false visions or practice divination. I will save my people from your hands. And then you will know that I am the Lord. Ezekiel 13:22,23


The word of the Lord came to me: “Son of man, if a country sins against me by being unfaithful and I stretch out my hand against it to cut off its food supply and send famine upon it and kill its people and their animals, even if these three men– Noah, Daniel, and Job– were in it, they could save only themselves by their righteousness declares the Sovereign Lord. Ezekiel 14:12-14


These were some of the prophecies of Ezekiel.

It is good to hear these same words today. In the first verse, ‘and because you encouraged the wicked not to turn from their evil ways and so save their lives’, is a statement that should be taken to heart.

People who are doing evil things need love, but more than that, they need to hear that they are sinning, and that their behavior will lead to their eternal death and separation from God.

Do we care enough about God’s wrath, to tell people to repent? God is love, but He is also just!

An earthly judge might love a criminal, but the crime still needs to be punished, in order for Him to carry out justice.

When people turn from their sins, and cry out for forgiveness, there is mercy. God does not want anyone to perish. That is why He so lovingly sent His perfect Son,– to take our punishment, and provide a way for us to be reconciled to God.

We can be washed clean, though our sins are as scarlet.

In the second verse, there is a warning for any country that becomes unfaithful to God.

God sees. God hears, God knows. There is nothing hidden from Him.

Only those who are right with God, through the forgiveness of Jesus, will be saved from destruction.

This is the time for salvation, and to repent, and to turn away from our sins, and turn towards God.

He is loving, kind, merciful, and just. He is willing to save us, and has left the choice of being saved to each one of us, individually.

Dear God, I pray that You would have mercy on me, a sinner. I know that You have forgiven me of many things. I pray for my country, that You would help people to turn from their sins, to recognize sin for what it is, and to repent. I pray they would find Your mercy and the love of Jesus. I pray for Your will to be done, for Your protection from evil, and that You would continue to provide for us. Thank You! Amen.

-Dawn-

I am leaving a link to biblegateway.com so that you can look up any Bible passage that you might want to read. As I have said before, 1 John 1:9 is my 911 verse. It says that If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

I also love another 911 verse: Psalm 119:11, ‘Thy word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against thee.’

Lookup a word or passage in the Bible


BibleGateway.com

Leave a Reply

