Burning the Card:

Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them. 

Colossians 3:19

I laughed as my husband read this verse. Then he teased me that tomorrow is my turn.

Colossians tells us to put on charity, which is the bond of perfectness. –And, to let the peace of God rule in our hearts, because we are one body, and we are to be thankful.

Not everything is easy, and treating people well, when we feel we’ve been mistreated is difficult!

These last couple weeks, I was angry about some things.

I had a seasonal job with the Forest Service, volunteered for the Fire Department, and worked in Emergency Services as an EMT. I helped my husband with our trucking business. When he was gone, I deposited his checks, answered phone calls, and home-schooled our son.

I was going along pretty good, but a little overwhelmed, so I gave up the Fire Department, and EMT, and the Forest Service, to spend more time, since high school courses require me to help guide my son more. I also wanted to take a break from the stress of trying to do so many things, to concentrate on the more important thing of helping my family.

We owned our home, after making payments for twenty years, and since we are self-employed, most of our business profits went to bills like health insurance, car insurance, groceries. We really didn’t make much money, but that was okay.

This is where the problem started. My husband thought it would be nice to take a vacation, so we are planning a trip to Hawaii. We got some pretty cheap tickets, and planned to share lodging expenses with my sister and her husband. –Perfect!

My husband applied for a credit card for me to have while there, in case something happened, and I needed help.

I was denied a credit card. I couldn’t understand it, as I had perfect credit, years ago when I checked. The problem was that I didn’t have a credit score. After trying to get a credit card from several agencies, I was still denied, even from people we did business with for years. I am a stickler for paying what I owe, and I didn’t have bad credit, I just didn’t have a credit score.

Here is the thing that made me most angry,– our local bank, that we have done business with for many years, said they would give me a loan to help get my credit score back up. Great! No!–a $500. loan would need to be secured with $500. plus there would be $195. in origination fees, and a 5% interest with six months to pay. Wow! I would have to pay $500 to get a loan for $500. plus pay $195. and interest? No way!

My husband decided just to add me as an authorized user to his credit card, and a beautiful card came with a beach scene on it. He was so happy when he gave it to me. But, I was so mad, that I didn’t have a credit score of my own, and that this same credit card company denied me a card, so I burned the new card on our wood stove! I told my husband I didn’t need it before, and that I don’t need one now. The banks could keep their money and cards!

After trying to call the three credit card reporting agencies to give them a piece of my mind, I found that they don’t let you communicate with them. You have to do everything online to resolve a dispute.I couldn’t even talk about my frustration with the source of it.

When I finally tapped into my credit information, I found there was nothing wrong with my credit worthiness. Payments from as far back as 2001 showed that I had faithfully paid every monthly bill. Our home loan was on there, showing that finally the loan was closed and paid in full. The phone number of my previous credit card was on there. I didn’t have a score, but I had a record of faithfully paying bills.

I called the number, asking if because I was a previous customer for many years, if they would allow me to be a customer again. They said I couldn’t apply, because I had to wait for a month between applications.

But the woman suggested again, that I get a card with my husband’s authorization, and then later try to get one of my own.

I told the lady I burned my card, because it didn’t help my credit. She laughed as she assured me it would, and another card is now on the way.

It shouldn’t have made me so angry–enough to burn my card, but I didn’t do anything wrong, and I was being punished.

This verse reminds me to put on Christ, put on charity, sing spiritual songs with grace in my heart, because…..

Knowing that of the Lord, ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ. … But he that doeth wrong shall receive for the wrong which he hath done; and there is no respect of persons. Colossians 3:24,25

I am glad that my husband thought about taking care of me, and took up the task to help get my credit score back.

I don’t like having people help me, as I like to be the one to help, so this was difficult for me.

I hope to handle problems better, and God is working on me. He is caring for me too. I need to quit being so stubborn, and allow his work in my life.

For any other women or stay at home spouses out there, be careful about your credit score. Financial Institutions are attaching that credit score number to your ability to get a loan, a credit card, a job, and only three credit agencies hold all that power. They don’t even allow you to talk to someone about an error in credit, or to debate your credit worthiness.

What a wake up call! The ability for a number like “666” to control buying and selling is not far off.

Dear Lord, you hold the keys of life itself. You are able to care for us and take care of us. People like me are so independent and stubborn, and we sometimes need to be reminded that we are not in charge. This problem made me aware of a more severe problem. There are lost souls, and the end could be very near. Please send workers for the harvest. Help me to be a good ambassador, that with Your help, I can spread love and encouragement, and the truth. In Your Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

