O Ye of Little Faith:

Do Not Worry (NIV) from biblegateway.com

22 Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. 23 For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. 24 Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! 25 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? 26 Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

27 “Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 28 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you—you of little faith! 29 And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. 30 For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. 31 But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.

32 “Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. 33 Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will never fail, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. 34 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. Luke 12:22-32

I needed to go back to the basics again.

I need to be reminded that worrying about money, food, clothing, or anything else, does nothing good for me.

It just shows how little faith I have.

Verse 30 says that it is the pagan world that runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. Then, it tells us to seek His Kingdom, and all these things will be given to us as well.

Not only that, but that God is pleased to give us the kingdom. In fact, we are told to sell what we have and give to the poor, providing purses for ourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will never fail. These treasures are ones that cannot be stolen, or damaged. Where our heart is, that is where we find our treasure also.

Tomorrow is but a mystery. We do not know fully what is going to happen.

I spent two weeks worrying about not having credit to take care of myself in case something happened to my husband. How foolish. God takes care of me, in sickness and in health, in the good times and the bad, through thick and thin, He is always with me. I am actually tired from worrying, and emotionally drained. Again, how utterly foolish! I wasted valuable hours wondering about something that has not happened.

34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

I love these reminders, that are called the Sword of the Spirit, the Word of God, and the Truth.  I know the Lord understands and forgives, as he reminded Peter, the disciple, on occasion, and would scold him, reminding him of his little faith. But, I know for a fact that Jesus dearly loved Peter, and Peter helped build the early church up in faith.God uses the foolish people too, so that is an encouragement for me. I know that Jesus loves me, even though I blow it on many occasions.

My first response to every problem needs to be prayer to God, and faith in knowing that He will take care of me.

Those stripes that were put on the back of Jesus by that cruel Roman whip, belonged to me. That crown of thorns, the nail scarred hands and feet, they belonged to me! The insults, the persecution, and everything Jesus took upon Himself, was intended for me.I deserved it, not Him. He took it all upon Himself to protect and save me! I owe Jesus faith in Him, and all my love! He can be trusted with my life–and yours!

Thank You, Lord, for Your forgiveness when I am foolish, and for Your continued love that sustains me. You are everything to me. Help me not to get distracted with these things of the world. You have given me a heavenly Kingdom, so wonderful, that I can’t even imagine it. I will be with You, and You will someday wipe away my tears, and I won’t remember all the bad things of this world. Help me to live what life I have left, so that it pleases You. Take my eyes off the boisterous waves, so that I won’t sink, and help me to fix my sight on You! In Your Precious Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

