A Petition for Naturalization:

Mom's family pictures 079 Mom's family pictures 080

But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body. Philippians 3:20,21

For people who like history, these pictures above are petitions for citizenship from my great grandparents.

In 1887, Ole Fredrikson signed U.S. citizenship papers that renounced his allegiance to any other Sovereignty, particularly to the King of Norway and Sweden, of which he was a subject.

I thought about these papers and how they relate to our citizenship in heaven.

When we become a Christian, we renounce our allegiance to all other powers. We agree to follow the teachings of Jesus, and to support them wholly.

It would be interesting if everyone who says they are a Christian would sign naturalization papers that declare they would renounce forever all allegiance, and fidelity to any foreign Prince, Potentate, State, or Sovereignty whatever. I wonder how many would sign it? Would it help us to finalize the decision to follow Christ? Would we see how important this decision is?

How many would pledge to support the teachings of Jesus and His heavenly government, laying aside everything else for His heavenly kingdom? Would they leave their home land and their familiar lives for this beautiful land that they have heard about?

Salvation is God’s free gift through Jesus, His son.

Everyone who believes that Jesus died for their sins, rose from the grave, and is at God’s right hand interceding on their behalf has the ‘papers’ they need to enter heaven.

However, because of this great sacrifice, it makes me have such deep love for my Savior, that I want to be under His Sovereignty, wholly devoted to His teachings. I do not need to sign the petition for naturalization as a citizen of Heaven. The blood of Jesus has already naturalized me to that Holy Kingdom.

I hope that I will always say to Jesus, that I am forever in His service and debt, and that I lay aside all other powers in my life, and give Him full authority.

Dear Jesus, thank You for that Holy Citizenship that You bought for me with Your own body and blood. I could never be a citizen of Heaven without Your great sacrifice. Thank You! This New Year help me to remember the great price You paid for my real freedom! In Your Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

