Philippians 3:13,14

luckysnow

Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:13,14

We have not yet attained the prize of being a Christian. It is described by Paul as a goal, like finishing a race.

Some things that help us in obtaining the goal of finishing the ‘faith race’ are knowing Gods Word, holding tightly to the truth, focusing on Jesus, who is cheering us on and helping us, and we are not to look backwards!

One has to train and prepare his body for the big event. We do that by putting God’s Word in our heart so that we won’t sin against Him.

We have to constantly remind ourselves of the truth, and gird that belt of truth around our waste, holding tightly to our faith. Otherwise, it would be easy to be deceived and lose our focus.

Jesus needs to be our focus, not all the other things going on around us.

If we look back, it is very likely we will stumble. It is hard to go forward when we are looking behind us, especially when running!

When I learned to ski, the instructor told me to look where I wanted to go, turn that way, and the skis would follow. It worked!

I just want to encourage you today, to stay focused, don’t look back, keep moving, and stay on course!

Dear Jesus, help me to stay on course too! I have been hearing a lot of discouragement from people who are having a difficult time with difficult circumstances, but looking from the outside, I can see they need to focus on You. Help them, Lord, and help me to stay focused on You too, and on obtaining the prize at the finish. In Jesus Name, Amen!

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

