One with Christ

100_1698Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour: Whom resist steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same afflictions are accomplished in your brethren that are in the world. 1 Peter 5:8,9

Jesus was tempted by the devil right after He fasted forty days in the wilderness. Jesus was weak in the body, but strong in His steadfastness for God. He was able to combat the lies that the devil told Him, because He knew God’s Words, He was One with God. If we are near to Him, He is near to us.

Matthew 4:1 (NIV)

Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. The tempter came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.”

Jesus stood steadfast. He said man should not live by bread alone, but by every word out of the mouth of God.

It seemed like such a small thing to have Jesus turn a stone into bread.– He could do it. That was true.Jesus was the Son of God, but He wasn’t going to use His power to please the devil, and there was more to the body than being hungry for food–Jesus would be filled with God’s Word!

It is hard to understand that Jesus is in God’s likeness, as when He told His disciples that if they have seen Him, they have seen God:

John 14:8-10 New International Version (NIV)

Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”

Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work.

We also need to build up our faith so that we are one with Jesus and the Father.

Galatians 2:19-21 New International Version (NIV)

19 “For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God. 20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

True victory is through Jesus Christ, God’s Son. If we are near to Him, He is near to us, and is an ever-present help in times of trouble.

Those spiritual battles are bound to come, and our enemy goes around looking for someone to devour. So put on that Spiritual armor, be sober,know God’s Word, become one with Christ, and be on your guard! Finally, stand firm in the Lord and in His mighty power.

Also remember that you are not the only one going through spiritual battles. Your brothers and sisters in Christ are experiencing them too. So—pray, pray, pray! Don’t lose your focus, and press forward toward the prize!

Dear Lord, You’ve given us a lot of information about this enemy that we have. He even tried to tempt you. You knew what to do, and how to win the victory. You used scripture, and finally told Satan to go away! Help us when we experience these battles. I pray You would keep my focus on You, and that I would be one with You, as You were One with the Father. Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

