Psalm 19:13,14

Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me; then shall I be upright, and I shall be innocent from the great transgression. Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer. Psalm 19:13,14

God took notice of David.

David was a young boy when God told Samuel to anoint him as a future king.

David was fearless as a shepherd, killing bears and lions. He wasn’t afraid to go against the giant Goliath, with just a few small stones, and His powerful God. David had faith!

David knew what pleased God. Along with that great faith, he prayed great prayers!

In these verses, David is calling himself God’s servant, acknowledging God’s power over him. Then, David is asking God to keep him from committing sins that would be offensive to God, and praying that they wouldn’t control him.

That stands out to me. Sins can control people.

James 1:14 but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed. 15 Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.

Sin’s temptation controls many people. This psalm gives good advice–to ask God not to let sins have dominion over them.

Finally, David wants his words and thoughts to be acceptable in God’s sight. He’s concerned about what God thinks of his speech and inward-most thoughts.

David is a good example for us to follow. It is an admirable thing to want to please God. God does take notice of our faith and actions, of our thoughts and desires.

I pray, Lord, that my thoughts would be right, and that my actions would bring You pleasure. I pray for lots more faith, and for understanding and wisdom. Don’t let my sins have dominion over me. Forgive me, lead me, protect me, and show me the way. Let my desire be for You, and increase my faith. Keep me from temptation, and deliver me from evil. To You be the power the kingdom, and the glory, forever. Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

