Jeremiah and Moses

Today, my devotions were about Jeremiah, the weeping Prophet.

Jeremiah was a youth when God called him to speak to the nations. It is interesting to see that Jeremiah’s response was a little bit like Moses’s. Both Jeremiah and Moses weren’t sure that they had what it took to address people on behalf of God. For Moses he thought his speech was not good enough, and for Jeremiah, he thought since he was a youth, no one would listen.

Jeremiah 1:

The Call of Jeremiah

The word of the Lord came to me, saying,

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
    before you were born I set you apart;
    I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

“Alas, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.”

But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord.

Let’s look at Moses’s response when God designated him to lead Israel out of captivity from Egypt:

Exodus 4:

10 Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”

11 The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

13 But Moses said, “Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.”

14 Then the Lord’s anger burned against Moses and he said, “What about your brother, Aaron the Levite? I know he can speak well. He is already on his way to meet you, and he will be glad to see you.

Many people have a fear of public speaking, and find it hard to tell people the gospel. We can be encouraged, just as God told Moses, think about who gave people their mouths, ears, and eyes. He will help us speak and will teach us what to say if we are willing to let Him.

One last verse in Jeremiah sums up what happened to him.

Jeremiah 20:9

But if I say, “I will not mention his word
    or speak anymore in his name,”
his word is in my heart like a fire,
    a fire shut up in my bones.
I am weary of holding it in;
    indeed, I cannot.

This youth, Jeremiah, was willing to speak for God, and He did such a good job, that he couldn’t hold in God’s Words. Maybe people didn’t listen, but that wasn’t going to deter him from speaking. He focused on God, not the distractions around him.

Dear God, please help us not to shrink back from speaking Your words. There is a time to be silent, and a time to speak, and help us to know the difference, and have the wisdom to speak Your Words correctly. You are mighty and wondrous. There is no reason to hide Your wonderful light. One cannot contain it. It is meant to be shared. Your word is a light to my path and a lamp to my feet. Thank You for everything. In Jesus’s Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

