Contentment with Food and Clothing:

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and raiment let us be therewith content. 1 Timothy 6:6-8

God is such a rich and generous provider, but sometimes, I am like the Israelites who wandered in the desert for forty years. I get tired of my ‘manna from heaven’, and crave the ‘richness of the Egyptians’.

God was so generous to those wanderers, and He is so generous to me. I need to stop being distracted by what the world has, and look at the bounty I have. My daily needs are met.

Food and clothing are really important. Living in a cold climate, I would not be very comfortable without food or clothing.

Many people live without these basic necessities. It could happen to me at any time. This world is uncertain.

Like in the verse above, it is good advice to be content with what we have, as we cannot take anything out with us when we leave this earth.

There is more good advice that Paul gives Timothy after this verse:

But they that will be rich fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and hurtful lusts, which drown men in destruction and perdition. For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows. 1 Timothy 6:9,10

Even Solomon, many hundreds of years before Paul wrote this verse, wrote in Proverbs 30:8,9:

Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
    give me neither poverty nor riches,
    but give me only my daily bread.
Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
    and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
    and so dishonor the name of my God.

Oh God, You are a great provider, and I appreciate all this goodness that You’ve shared with my family and me, and with the world. I pray that You would help me to be content with what You’ve given.Keep me focused on You. Help me to use Your gifts to further advance the gospel, to feed my soul, and to prepare for Your return. Send workers for the harvest, as now is the time to turn to You.

Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

