Fellowship in God’s Love

Kailua Beach1If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son purifies us from all sin. 1 John 1:6,7

Fellowship requires love. Without the Lord, we cannot love others with true love. To love though we’ve been wronged, to love when things aren’t right, to love when we are tired or annoyed, only God can give us the strength needed to do that.

It does take strength to love when our patience is tried, and when our needs are not met.

God’s love is unselfish, and with it, we are able to love without having our own needs met. We love others to meet their needs.

That is a ‘tough love’. It is hard to do–impossible without God’s help.

I fail at this kind of love, often with my son, husband, and our dogs. When I am tired, and do not feel rewarded for all the work i do, I don’t feel like showing love to them. I become angry at the dog prints on the floor I just mopped, or about the cups and bottles left empty around the house, or the grease on the rug, or the scratch marks on the door, or one of the dogs throwing up at night, and me stepping in it, before I turn on the lights.

Some days, i want to shout and scream and demand my way, and threaten to leave this messy, chaotic, demanding home.

I do lose my temper on some days, and then after a ‘time-out’, and being able to focus on what really matters, I apologize and start over. Without God’s help, I might have given up a long time ago, instead of waited for that ‘better day’.

Some days are better than others. Some days are even tragic, and I’m glad when they are over. Some days are so good, I want to bask in the sunshine of God’s goodness, and stay there forever.

Light and darkness seem to always be together. Good and bad, happy and sad, right and wrong, left and right, up and down, there always seems to be a reaction for every action.

Nothing seems to last forever.

Solomon wrote long ago that there was a time to every purpose under heaven:

Ecclesiastes 3:1 To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: 

A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; 

A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

Dear God, help my love to be ‘in season’ according to Your will. I am a selfish, sinful, person, and need Your help to live righteously. I know that demanding my own way is selfish, and it doesn’t bring about the love that You require. There will be an eternity for my needs to be met when this life is over, but for now, give me patience, joy, love, strength, and a sound mind. Help me to love with Your love.Help me to live in the light, and purify me from all sin. In Jesus’s name, Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “Fellowship in God’s Love

  1. Love is not easy as you say so well in this post but it is the mark or measure of a Christ-follower. Many days I wish Jesus had given something easier like how well I do laundry for others or something like that! But no, He said Love one another as He loved us – whew! So glad He empowers us to do what He calls us to!
    Thanks for writing!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

