Just Go where He tells You to!

Romans 1:16

For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek.

In 2006, I sat at the jail one day, after asking a guard if I could witness to inmates. I truly felt led to go there. The warden referred me to two very nice people who would be arriving shortly, who were wonderful at preaching the gospel. John and Dianna Pierce were Seventh Day Adventists, and came every Sunday to the jail. They invited me to join them in visiting that Sunday, and for about eight Sundays after. They were amazing!

i wasn’t even a member of the Seventh Day Adventist Church, but I was able to sit with inmates and openly discuss the Bible and Salvation through Christ.

Before going to the jail, when I felt God urging me to go, I was trying to do it in my own power and understanding. I called other ministers in our valley asking them to support me in witnessing Christ to inmates, not monetarily, but with the ability to direct them to their churches, and to pray for me, I was disappointed, because I actually could not find one minister who wanted me to do that.

Without me being a church member, no one wanted me to refer inmates to their church. You would be perplexed at the discussions I had with some of the ministers I spoke with.

God didn’t ask me to call ministers, or ask people to pray for me, but I thought that was what I was suppose to do.

When I acted on what He told me, and just went right to the jail, God let me in and supported me with the people He chose.

I witnessed the salvation of a couple inmates, and experienced the fellowship of men and women who desperately wanted to know God. It was a blessing to visit people in jail, and by doing so, we are doing this for Christ, too. Matthew 25:

34 Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:

35 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:

36 Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

37 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?

38 When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?

39 Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?

40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

Jesus never told us that we needed a piece of paper with credentials to witness for Him, in order to tell others the gospel message. Each one of us who believes in Jesus are told to preach the gospel, and share the good news!

When you recognize the wonderful thing that Jesus has done, you can’t help but share the good news. We also witness by our actions, sometimes without words.

Some will be angry when presented with the message of Christ and salvation, and you might even be persecuted, but be of good cheer, because you sharing in the suffering of Christ, experiencing what He did., God will make everything alright in the end. Who knows, the gospel might fall on good ground, and you might see a great harvest! Just as there is much rejoicing in heaven over one sinner, it is a grand experience to be part of that!

Dear Lord, I just ask that you’ll send workers for the harvest. We need a revival in this land! Save us, forgive us, have mercy on us, and please help us. Make me a good ambassador for You. Help me to share the gospel in truth and love. Give me wisdom, understanding, and discernment. Thank You! Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

