Put Your Hope in God!

Sunrise in Kaneohe, Hawaii

Sunrise in Kaneohe, Hawaii

 15 For this is what the high and exalted One says—
    he who lives forever, whose name is holy:
“I live in a high and holy place,
    but also with the one who is contrite and lowly in spirit,
to revive the spirit of the lowly
    and to revive the heart of the contrite.
16 I will not accuse them forever,
    nor will I always be angry,
for then they would faint away because of me—
    the very people I have created.

Isaiah 57:15,16

For many people, they think that God is too holy for them to approach.

In verse 15, we read that God does inhabit a high and holy place, but He is also with people who are contrite and lowly in spirit.

Contrite, according to the Merriam Webster Online Dictionary, is a word that describes someone who shows regret for their bad behavior. Lowly, or humble, is a word that describes someone who is not proud, or who does not think that he is better than others.

God dwells with us when we are contrite and humble, when we are sorry for our sins, and are not too proud to admit our wrongs. He abides with us in order to revive us.

Revive is an action word, a verb, that describes someone or something that is brought back to be strong, healthy, and active again.

We can be revived by God, made to think that we are accepted by Him,  brought back to be healthy, strong, and fit to be in the service of God!

Our heart can have the heavy weight of guilt and remorse lifted from it, so that we can see ourselves made new from what we once were! It is a gift of grace from God!

God has so graciously given us the only antidote for sin, the amazing, free-flowing, cleansing blood of Jesus, and it is a free gift, from God to us. How absolutely amazing is that?

Lately, I have been in need of being revived! This verse in Isaiah encourages me so much! There are times when I get ‘trapped’ in my past, and feel guilty about things that I’ve done, and that have been done to me. I feel unfit for the service of God. Painful memories stir the emotions of sadness and despair.

Why is it, that it is hard to remind myself at these times of the hope that I have?  In Psalm 42, many times David would ask himself,” Why so downcast, Oh my soul, why so disturbed within me?” Then he would answer himself, “Put Your hope in God!”

Dear God, You are my hope and strength! I thank You for reviving me, for forgiving me, and cleansing me from sin. You take away even the guilt of our sin, You renew our Spirit, and when we are humble and remorseful, You revive us! Thank You for Your presence and help. May Your will be done in my life, and in this world. Keep me from temptation and deliver me from the evil one. Thank You for providing what I need daily. You are wonderful! In the name of Your Son, Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

