Watching for Smoke:

Daniel 12:1-4 (The End Times) NIV

“At that time Michael, the great prince who protects your people, will arise. There will be a time of distress such as has not happened from the beginning of nations until then. But at that time your people—everyone whose name is found written in the book—will be delivered. Multitudes who sleep in the dust of the earth will awake: some to everlasting life, others to shame and everlasting contempt. Those who are wise will shine like the brightness of the heavens, and those who lead many to righteousness, like the stars for ever and ever. But you, Daniel, roll up and seal the words of the scroll until the time of the end. Many will go here and there to increase knowledge.”

In some of my posts, I wrote about being a fire lookout for the Forest Service.

I spent seven summer seasons watching for fires in remote areas of North Idaho.

A tower with glass windows all around me was my ‘office’ in the woods. I watched, especially after thunderstorms, for any smoke columns that might show up.

When smoke was spotted, I used a ‘fire finder’ to ‘zero-in’ on the location of the smoke.

The fire-finder was a round metal frame with a 360º compass around it. A metal tape was stretched across the top, in line with a site equipped with fine cross hairs.

The map below the metal tape and cross hairs, was of the twenty-mile radius that I could see from the tower. It was marked with township, range, and sections. The metal tape, if lined up with the smoke, would give me an idea of where the fire was according to its azimuth (compass) reading, if I correctly plotted the location using landmarks that I knew.

I had a field radio to notify the dispatchers in a city that was over fifty miles away. They would take down all pertinent information that I could give them, like the color of the smoke, the aspect, the size, the location, and if there were any close roads. What was the rate of spread? What was the compass, or azimuth reading of the smoke? All these things had to be   conveyed.to the dispatcher.

In turn, the dispatcher would notify the nearest unit that was available to fight the fire, and give a size up from the ground.

Sometimes, a plane would do a recon of the area I described, and smoke jumpers would be sent in, if the area was too remote.

As I see many things happening in the world, I am compelled to wonder if the Lord’s return will be soon? I see ‘signs of smoke’ (the prophecies of the Bible about the end times being fulfilled).

Israel is being surrounded by her enemies. Nations are rising against nation. Famines, diseases, pestilences, wars, rumors of wars are prevalent. Earthquakes, and destructive forces of nature, seem more frequent, and more deadly. The world is setting a stage for a powerful entity. The prospect of buying or selling without a certain number doesn’t seem too unattainable.

We see immorality rampant, innocent children being killed by their own mothers, and so much horror is being done to innocent people. Some things that are being done must be worse than in the days of Noah?

Our food crops are being manipulated by greed. Diseases are being manufactured for biological warfare. Weapons are being developed for mass destruction, and many world leaders refuse to accept the sanctity and importance of life.

Where are people getting their knowledge from today? Our public schools have become places where ungodly things are being taught. Instead of places that teach knowledge and wisdom Educators are teaching that each person is their own God. Their own happiness is all that matters.

God tells us that there are laws, and punishment for disobedience of those laws. When He ushers in His Kingdom, it will be with judgment, and a force that is inconceivable. The time for mercy is now. The time to receive His grace is now! It is offered to each one of us, through God’s Son, Jesus Christ.

Dear God, I pray that You will shorten the days of the end. I pray that You would keep me from being deceived. I ask that You send workers for the harvest, and help us to stand before You some day. Forgive me of my sins. Let Your presence fill me. Teach me Your ways. Help me to live for You. Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “Watching for Smoke:

  1. I, too, get distracted from seeing the goal, because I see so much smoke. However, it is important that we see the ‘smoke’ and the source of it, so we can ‘make spiritual preparations to evacuate’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

