An Impenetrable Shield:

I read a devotional by Billy Graham, entitled, “The Enemy Deceives Us“.

The article was based on this verse in Ephesians 6:16:

Above all, taking the shield of faith, wherewith ye shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.

You can find Mr. Graham’s message here: http://billygraham.org/devotion/the-enemy-deceives-us/

This is an excerpt:

Many jokes are made about the devil, but the devil is no joke. If a short time ago I had talked about Satan to university students, they would have made light of him, but no longer. Students today want to know about the devil, about witchcraft, about the occult. Many people do not know they are turning to Satan.

The devil is a real enemy, and he is looking for someone to devour. That should be a scary thought!

We are told in this verse in Ephesians, that it is of utmost importance that we take our protective, impenetrable shield of faith, which is the unseen confidence and trust we have in God, so that we can extinguish the fiery darts of the wicked.

A shield is usually made of strong metal, something that would definitely be seen by the enemy. Faith is something unseen. It is the knowledge of God, and the utmost trust and confidence in Him.

Faith in God is a mighty shield that the enemy cannot see. It is the ultimate protection from wickedness.

Dear God, I pray that You would strengthen my faith. Help me to stand firm, with my feet prepared with the readiness of the gospel of peace. Equip me with the truth of Your word. Put it in my heart that I wouldn’t sin against You. I pray for Your full armor. Protect my mind with the knowledge of salvation. Help me to pray always. I ask that Your perfect will be done. Thank you, God. Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

