Knowing God’s Word, and Putting it in Your Heart:

Psalm 119:9-11

How can a young person stay on the path of purity?
    By living according to your word.
10 I seek you with all my heart;
    do not let me stray from your commands.
11 I have hidden your word in my heart
    that I might not sin against you.

When my son was young, we would listen to ‘Adventures in Odyssey‘. There was one radio program that acted out a skit about Psalm 119:11, and the Character called it a 9-1-1 verse–an emergency verse to remember to put God’s word in your heart.

Putting God’s Word in our hearts is how we stay on the ‘path of purity’. When we memorize and hide God’s Word, so that it is embedded in us, we are more likely to live by that knowledge of the truth.

Billy Graham is over ninety years old, and he has a lot of wisdom concerning the Bible. He says that it is better to read a little passage and grasp the message, than to read a long passage and forget what the scripture says. He also said that we should ask the Holy Spirit to enlighten the passages for us. Mr. Graham said that reading God’s Word has a purifying effect on our hearts and minds.

It is easy to be deceived if we don’t know what God’s Word says. Biblegateway.com is a wonderful resource to look up passages of scripture. There have been many versions of the Bible written, and with this site, you can compare the translations. I like the King James Version, because of the poetic way in which it is written, especially Psalm 23.

However, when I was young, and I read Psalm 23, I was wondering why David didn’t want the Lord. (The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.) In the New International Version, it says, “The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.” That was much clearer for me in understanding it with my younger mind.

Understanding the scripture is important. Like Billy Graham said, ask the Holy Spirit for wisdom when reading God’s Word.

James 1:5  If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you.

I encourage you to read God’s word, and put it in your heart.

Dear God, I thank You that You have provided us with Your Word. There is so much knowledge in the Bible. It tells us how to be saved, and tells us that You love us. It gives a vivid history of the beginning of man, and ends with a vision of the end times, and Your new kingdom. I ask that You would put Your word in my heart, and hide it there, so that I can have the knowledge I need to live the right way. I pray for Your Holy Spirit to give me a right mind. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

