The Heart:

For my devotions today, I was studying the word ‘heart’. This word is mentioned many times in the Bible.

There is a physical meaning of the word, and an emotional aspect to the word.

Billy Graham used the verse in Romans 10:9, to encourage me to ‘dig a little deeper’ into the thoughts behind some of the verses that mention our hearts.

If thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

Reverend Graham made mention that the heart is the pump of the body. Without it, we could not live. In this verse, ‘heart’ is a metaphor. It is synonymous with life. In other words, its definition in this verse is that we are to believe wholly, with all our being that God raised Jesus from the dead. Then we will be saved.

There is no room for a lukewarm belief. If our heart was to beat with a shallow rhythm, we would not have a healthy life. We need for our hearts to beat at regular, strong intervals, to pump our blood supply adequately to carry oxygen and nutrients throughout our bodies.

We also need a strong belief, to carry this information to serve the body of Christ well, and to live an abundant Christian life.

You can read more here:

http://billygraham.org/devotion/a-heart-of-belief/

This is sort of like two posts in one, as I had to look into the Hebrew word for heart. I came across a wonderful devotional that I would love to share with you. It can be found here: http://www.hebrew4christians.com/Meditations/Lev_Tahor/lev_tahor.html

Create for me a clean heart, O God, and a right spirit within me. (Psalm 51:10)

In this verse, according to John Parsons, the word ‘Create’ is the same word in Hebrew that is used to describe the creation of the cosmos.

David is asking God to make his heart completely new, to speak into existence a totally new person.

The word for ‘heart’ in Hebrew is ‘lev’, and means the inner person, the seat of emotions, thought, and will. David is asking God that this new creation will take place in his inner man, to give him new thoughts, a new will, new emotions; in essence, to make in him inwardly a completely new man.

If you would like to print out a Hebrew study card for this verse, click the link below.

psalm51-10

Dear God, I do believe wholeheartedly, with all my being, that Jesus died for my sins, that He rose again, and that He is with You, interceding on my behalf. Like David prayed, I ask that you would create in me a new heart, a right spirit within me. I pray for Your words to encourage me, and draw me close to You daily. I pray for Your will to be done. In the precious name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “The Heart:

  1. You’re right about what the heart meant in Hebrew metaphorically/spiritually but it was actually physically associated with the bowels or intestunes rather than the heart. That little tidbit does throw a different spin on psalms 51 doesnt it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

