Taking Pleasure in the Works of God:

I was invited to a field trip online by a group called Foundations in Genesis. http://www.figionline.com/

They are planning at the end of March to view the Hells Canyon area of Idaho, and will explain about the geological features in a way the glorifies God, the Creator of the Universe.

IMG_0132

Marmot in Payette National Forest

The verse that was on the flier for this field trip was Psalms 111:2

The works of the LORD are great, sought out of all them that have pleasure therein. (KJV)

In the NIV version, it reads this way:

Great are the works of the Lord;
    they are pondered by all who delight in them.

I have taken so many pictures of nature.

I love the oceans, the mountains, the valleys, and prairies.

I have gone to the zoo, where I’ve seen such unique animals. Things like rhino’s, bison, big lizards, iguanas, kamodo dragons, antelope, kangaroos, and more. Each animal is so unique with characteristic features all their own.

Think of the variety of fish. There are whales, dolphins, small colorful tropical fish, sharks, and more.

There are so many different kinds of birds, each with a song of their own.

Flowers,– look at all the different colors and varieties, and trees too.

Then, there are the different kinds of crops. Each with different tastes, colors, and textures.

I am amazed at God’s creation.

I have not even tapped the surface of what He has created. There is a world that is tiny and minute, with organisms that are too small to see with our eyes.

There are great towering species of trees, like the redwoods and the cedars.

There are fruit trees that have magnificent tasty fruits in their own seasons. Peaches, apples, oranges, cherries, and more.

It gives me such pleasure to see, taste, smell, touch, and hear the wonders that God has made. I give Him all the glory!

I am a terrible gardener. It is close to planting season and I will start my tomatoes. I am lucky to have fifty percent of my garden come up, most years.

I am learning more, and figuring out how to garden better each year.

When I walk in the woods, I see a garden of wild flowers that grow where the seeds fall, and bloom brilliantly. I see the mountain species of animals and they look so healthy. I enjoy seeing the deer, elk, and rabbits when they are brave enough to show themselves when I walk our dogs. God’s creation seems to thrive so effortlessly.

This verse in Psalms 111, makes me so happy because I have a relationship with the God of Creation, the God of the Universe! His creation makes me feel close to Him.

He is preparing my future home, too. I cannot even imagine what He has planned.

I Cor. 2:9  But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.

Oh God, You are so amazing! You have done wondrous things, and made such a variety of plants, trees, animals, fish, and more. I cannot even begin to fathom all your mysteries. There are the far reaches of space, the deep crevices and canyons of the earth and sea, the vast desert regions, and underground caverns that have not even been touched by man. Your world is unique and stamped with your fingerprints. I give You glory and praise and honor. Let Your will be done, always! In Jesus’s Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

