Accepting Help When we Need It:

God is our refuge and strength, A very present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1

I have been speaking with a few family members who are experiencing some troubles.

One member has to move from their home that they have had for many years. It is a difficult move. They are taking a lot of time to pack and go through years of things that they have accumulated. Since they are down-sizing, some of those things need to be given away, or thrown away. Some are sentimental and need to be packed with care.This person is having a difficult time going through things.

I knew she was struggling, and asked if she could use the help of some family members to get the task accomplished, to make their move easier? I previously had heard that it was just too much for her to do.

This person got angry at me for mentioning that I would help, and informed me that they would do it alone.

Then, another family member lost a job. When I mentioned some jobs that were available, this person got angry, and said they would look, and didn’t want any help. They could do it alone.

When I see a problem, or hear that someone is having a problem, I want to help, That is just who I am. I want to solve problems, and fix trouble, and help make things right.

However, I have noticed that some people do not want help.

Many people want to do things themselves. When they are in trouble, they cannot ask for help, or take the help that’s offered.

I am like this myself, so I can understand. I love to help people, but it is hard for me to accept help, yes–to a fault.

Last year, I drove a motorized dirt bike into the woods, the throttle stuck on high, and the gravel was dry and dusty. When I applied the brakes, I skidded, lost control, and was thrown off the bike, and somersaulted down the road.

Now, this is sort of a funny thing for a fifty-year-old lady to do. I knew all the EMT’s in the valley, because I was one. No way was I going to let them help me. I suffered with some broken ribs, a puncture wound, and road rash gravel in my arms.I was not going to the hospital.

Some of it was pride that I didn’t want anyone to help, and some of it was fear. Fear of not being in control of what happens. Having to listen to the advice of others.

I have healed, and am back to my old self, thinking about going up in the woods again, with a different dirt bike–just kidding.

But sometimes, our foolishness in needing help, and not asking for it, can get us into serious trouble,

This verse says the God is a very present help in times of trouble.

I also think of Peter when he was sinking in the water, he called out to Jesus, and Jesus immediately helped him.

29 So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus. 30 But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”

31 And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?”

It is when we don’t cry out, and don’t ask for help, that there is a chance we might be fatally injured.

When we don’t ask Jesus to save us, and we know we need His help, there are serious consequences.

Dear God, You are willing to help us if we just ask. Help me not to be too proud to accept the help you offer. You know we need help before we even ask. You want us to seek you, and ask for salvation. Thank You that You are a very present help in times of trouble. In Jesus’s Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “Accepting Help When we Need It:

  1. Well said. I often say that receiving is far more difficult than giving. We live in a world where we’re trying to teach people to be more compassionate, more giving, and yet one of the best ways to really understand that, is to be on the receiving end yourself. When you understand the surrendering of pride that often has to happen before one asks for help, it makes you a better giver.

    I have no intention of riding a dirt bike into the woods, but if I had, yep me too, I would have crawled my way home before suffering the indignity of paramedics 😉

    Like

    • Thanks IB, You are so correct in saying it is far more difficult to receive than give, and it does make one a better giver when they have been on the receiving end.
      That is funny that you also would crawl home, rather than suffer the indignity of paramedics. Pride hurts!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

