An Inspirational Wall:

My Kitchen Wall

My Kitchen Wall

Deuteronomy 6: 4-9

Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates.

I know that sometimes I need help to remember, or to remind myself, that God is with me, that He will help me, and that there is nothing we can’t handle together.

I have a kitchen wall with inspirational plaques that have verses on them, along with other encouraging words. There is also a picture of a man praying over his food, and a clock.

I didn’t arrange these things in this fashion for any reason, but when I really think about them, they each serve as a reminder.

The clock is a reminder that we don’t have an infinite amount of time on this earth, and that I should use it well.

The big picture of the man praying, reminds me to be thankful and grateful to God for everything. This man has a loaf of bread and a bowl of soup in the picture, a meager meal, along with his Bible. He has a small amount of food, but yet a solemn and sincere looking face as he is praying. This picture makes me feel good when I look at it, and gives me peace.

I have the verse in Isaiah on a plaque. My mom sent this to me years ago in the mail. It broke in several pieces, so I glued it back together. It says, “But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.” Isaiah 53:5

Jesus amazingly took my sins and my punishment on the cross. He healed me and saved me by what He did.

Then I have a ‘Welcome’ plaque and a ‘Kitchen Prayer”:

Bless my pretty kitchen Lord

And light it with Thy Love.

Help me plan and cook my meals

From Thy heavenly home above.

Bless our meals with Thy Presence

And warm them with Thy grace;

Watch over me as I do my work,

Washing pots and pans and plates.

The service I am trying to do

Is to make my family content,

So bless my eager efforts Lord

And make them heaven sent.

It reminds me to take care of others in my home, and serve them with love.

I also have a verse, Psalm 91:1, He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

This verse reminds me that when life is too hard to handle, I can rest in Him, knowing that the Lord will take care of every situation. When I draw close to Him , He will draw close to me. His shadow will cover me.

The Ten Commandments are posted on my refrigerator, and a wooden board in my bedroom has the words, “When life becomes too hard to stand, Kneel in prayer.”

The Israelites were told to tie God’s commandments around their hands, put them on their foreheads, write them on their doorposts. Think about them when they lie down, and when they get up, when they walk around, or sit down, and to impress them on their hearts.

It is a good reminder for us to think on the things of God. We should put God’s words where we can see them, hear them, and think about them. We would do well to remember them, and impress them on our hearts!

Thank you, dear Lord, for everything! You are so amazing and good. I thank You that You took my sins and my punishment on the cross. I did not obey Your commands, and went my own way. My disobedience to God was deserving of death. Thank You for Your mercy and forgiveness, and for saving me. In Jesus’s Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “An Inspirational Wall:

Leave a Reply

