From a Servant of Sin, to a Servant of God:

For when ye were the servants of sin, ye were free from righteousness.

What fruit had ye then in those things wherof ye are now ashamed? for the end of those things is death.

But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life.

For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. Romans 6:20-23

There was no reward in the things I now say I am ashamed to have done. I only wish that I had known God all the days of my life. As these verses point out, the wages of sin is death.

When I was freed of sin, and became a servant of God, (which is such a privilege) I started to have peace, patience, joy, gentleness, kindness, and felt the warmth and light of God in my life. (the fruit unto holiness) I also look forward to, and have hope in, eternal life with Christ. (there are no words amazing enough to describe that)

My life with Jesus on this planet is not always easy. I often fail at doing the right thing. But that is when I experience the grace of God. He is willing to forgive sins.

I am encouraged when I read about the disciples who had the enormous privilege of walking with Christ. They failed too, and Jesus always assured them of His love.

Thomas doubted him, Judas betrayed him, and Peter denied Jesus.

Jesus let Thomas put his fingers in His wounded, nail-scarred hands. Jesus gave Peter the opportunity to tell Him how much he loved Him, and Jesus said that Peter would help build the early church.

Judas hung himself, yet Revelation 21:14 says that the the names of the twelve apostles will be on the foundations of the walls of the New Jerusalem.

I love reading about Peter because his reactions have been like my own. When I saw the holiness of Jesus, I couldn’t believe He would want to save a sinner like me.

When Peter saw the miracle of his fishing nets full of fish, and knew Jesus had such power, Peter told Jesus to go away from him, because he was a sinner. Jesus didn’t go away.

I’m so glad that Peter came to terms with accepting that Jesus loved him, because that helped me to understand that Jesus loves me too.

If you are worried that Jesus couldn’t forgive you, or maybe you’ve denied Christ after you knew Him, maybe you’ve doubted? There is room at the cross for you! Jesus is willing to forgive sins.

The gift of God is eternal life through Jesus.

Dear Lord, I am so thankful that You have forgiven me of all my sins. I pray for everyone who desires to know You, that they would seek You, and find You, and that You would draw near to them. Send workers for the harvest, and help me to be a good ambassador for You. I pray for God’s will to be done. In Your Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

2 thoughts on “From a Servant of Sin, to a Servant of God:

  1. Dawn, I find the apostles encouraging too – they were so average and yet Jesus chose them and loved them deeply – I sure can relate!
    Regarding the names of the 12 mentioned in Revelation 21:14, I do not believe Judas will be included. It is very clear that he was following the devil and not Christ, Luke 22:3. Although only God knows what is truly in anyone’s heart many Bible teachers believe the 12th apostle will be Paul. I guess we will all know when that glorious day comes!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have heard that about Judas, too. In the King James, Luke 22:3 says that Satan entered into Judas. He obviously was possessed to do evil and turn Jesus in. One thing to note is that Christ had not yet died for the sins of the world. In Matthew 27, we see that Judas repented of what he did, and tried to give the money back to the priests and elders:
      3 Then Judas, which had betrayed him, when he saw that he was condemned, repented himself, and brought again the thirty pieces of silver to the chief priests and elders,

      4 Saying, I have sinned in that I have betrayed the innocent blood. And they said, What is that to us? see thou to that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

