Easter Celebration and Symbolism:

Happy Easter

Easter has been on my mind and in my thoughts.

I made a trip to the grocery store, and the main aisle was full of all kinds of candy. There were jelly beans, various chocolate eggs, marshmallow Peeps that were brightly colored, hollow-shaped chocolate bunnies, and ducks, and more.

The signage that was displayed contained bunnies, baskets, and eggs, with greetings of Happy Easter.

Lilies were on sale in the produce aisle. — I loved seeing the green foliage with the beautiful, big white, sweet-smelling flowers. Easter Lilies are such a delight to see after a long winter.

I didn’t see very many things that had a religious theme appropriate for the holiday though. The Easter Bunny seems to have taken front and center stage, along with the candy, baskets, and ducks. I did find some religious candy– Whitman’s brand of candy made dollar shaped chocolates with verses, and the Russel Stover’s brand produced chocolate crosses.

Easter is a celebration of the resurrection of Jesus. The tomb was empty! Jesus won the victory over death and hell!

Easter, our Christian celebration of the resurrection of the Lamb, Jesus Christ, who was sacrificed for our sins, occurs very closely to the days that are celebrated for the Jewish Passover. The Passover will be April 23rd, this year.

The Passover is celebrated in remembrance of the time that God passed over the homes in Egypt that had the blood of the lamb on their doorposts.Those that did not have the blood of the lamb of their doorpost suffered a heartbreaking plague. The first born of Egypt were killed, to persuade the Pharaoh to let God’s people go, The Israelite’s had been slaves of a powerful nation. God was preparing to deliver them, and send them to a land flowing with milk and honey.

This is an analogy. We are slaves too. Sin has power over our lives. It enslaves us. God delivered us, and saved us from death, through Jesus, His Son, who took our punishment upon Himself.

The smell of life, not death filled the empty tomb of Jesus. I am reminded of that, when I see the pure white lilies, blooming and full of fragrance.

The colorful Easter eggs remind me of the empty tomb. It is a time of joy and celebration, but also deep reflection for the amazing gift of salvation and restoration.

My parents always hid a chocolate bunny for us children to find. That act reminds me to seek God’s Kingdom, and if I search diligently for it, I will find it.

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Matthew 7:7

Now that I am older, I know the way: Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6

If you would like to read more about the symbolism, tradition, and history of the Christian Easter Holiday, Wikipedia had a great article here

Dear God, thank You for sending Jesus to take away the sins of the world. I know that He is the only way to You. The cross is foolishness to those who are perishing,but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. Thank You that You pass over my sins because of what Jesus did on the cross. I praise You and give You honor. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

One thought on “Easter Celebration and Symbolism:

Leave a Reply

