There will Still be Doubters:

Romans 15:13 // An Easter Prayer // incourage.me

Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. Matthew 28:16

Today, I went to a little country church. Some beautiful old hymns were sung, and some new songs too. Sharon, a talented older woman, played the harmonica, while the pastor played the guitar. The worship music was beautiful with the angelic voice of the lead singer. Communion was given at the end of the service, after a call was given for repentance and salvation. I love Easter, and the ability to celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ!

The message was on Matthew 28. What stood out to me was verse 16.

The beginning of the chapter is about the women who went to the tomb early in the morning after the Sabbath. There was a violent earthquake. An angel of the Lord rolled the stone away from the tomb. His appearance was like lightning. He made the soldiers so afraid that they shook and became like dead men.

The angel told the women that Jesus wasn’t there, that He had risen, and to tell the disciples to go to Galilee, where they would see Jesus.

Jesus met the women on their journey, and confirmed what the angel said.

Meanwhile, the religious leaders paid a large amount of money to the guards that saw the angel. They were to say that the disciples took the body of Jesus away during the night while they slept. The chief priests would keep them from getting into trouble from the governor. This story was circulated, and is still told today.

Jesus met the disciples on a hill near Galilee, just as the angel said. However, there were some that doubted.

Jesus then gave the disciples the great commission.

Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Jesus knows that not everyone will believe, but our mission is to preach the gospel, making disciples of all nations, baptizing, and teaching obedience to the things Jesus taught.

We have the promise and assurance that He is with us always to the end of the age.

At the end of the service, today, when we had Communion in remembrance of the blood of Jesus that was shed, and His body that was broken, I was thinking of John 6:

54 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day. 55 For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink.

Did you know that when Jesus said this, many turned away from following Him?

65 He went on to say, “This is why I told you that no one can come to me unless the Father has enabled them.”

66 From this time many of his disciples turned back and no longer followed him.

For some people, they will choose not to believe, and unless the Father enables them, they cannot come to Jesus.

Those are hard words.

When you tell someone the gospel, don’t be offended that they don’t believe. Instead, pray that the Father will call them, and help them to see their need for salvation.

Have a wonderful Easter!

Thank you so much precious Jesus, You gave everything in order for me to have salvation. I praise You and thank You! I give You honor and praise! I love You! You are my very best friend. Help me to grow in faith daily, and to draw near to You always. Lord, You have saved me from many sins. I owe You everything. I pray for God’s will to be done, and for the Holy Spirit’s power in my life, that I might serve You well. In Your Name, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

