Exhuming Bodies:

Revelation 20:11-15

And I saw a great white throne, and him that sat on it, from whose face the earth and the heaven fled away; and there was found no place for them.

12 And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of those things which were written in the books, according to their works.

13 And the sea gave up the dead which were in it; and death and hell delivered up the dead which were in them: and they were judged every man according to their works.

14 And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death.

15 And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.

I read an article on CNN, about Pearl Harbor. Four-hundred-twenty-nine Sailors were killed on the ‘Oklahoma‘, one of the ships in Pearl Harbor, December 7, 1941, when it was torpedoed by the Japanese. Only about forty of those men have been positively identified.

The Defense Department made the statement that they would like to exhume the bodies and use DNA testing to try to positively Identify the men, If they are identified, their remains would be returned to their families for burial. They are presently interned at the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific in Hawaii.

After so many years, it seems a strange statement. It might bring closure to some families, but after seventy-three years, I’m thinking that many of these service member’s families would be difficult to find. I think it is unusual that after all this time, they would want positive identification?

This verse above reminds me that the sea will give up its dead, and even those who are dead, and in hell, will be brought up to be judged by their works. And whosoever is not found written in the book of life will be cast into the lake of fire, the second death.

God knows who we are, and He knows our deeds, and whether or not we have been saved by the precious blood of Jesus.

Make sure you are written in the Lamb’s book of life!

Dear God, You know where we are at all times. Our presence is not hid from You, even if we are in the deepest ocean, or in outer space, or burned beyond recognition, You will raise us all up to be judged. None of us would be worthy of Heaven, without being washed and clothed by Your precious Son, Jesus. Help us to prepare for that day, so that we can stand before You. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

4 thoughts on “Exhuming Bodies:

    • Wally, I love illustrations too! They help me embed what I’m learning by seeing something I can relate too. The eyes are a window to the soul. I love your quotes, and reading your posts!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thoughts we should all count on! Awareness should be available for all the nations. thanks for the scriptures and you words for devotion! Also, thanks for your likes n my lvingwithleigh.wordpress.com blog. I would like to invite you to like and follow my new blog. I just began this new wordpress blog so that I had a place to focus on Ministries for Christ. I’ll be blogging about the ministry I support as well as others. I’d love to have you participate by gust blogging from time to time about a ministry you admire or by writing a devotion about Christ’s commandment to make disciples of all men. You would have to teach me how to allow a guest blogger though…I’ve never done that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leigh, I’m not sure how to be a guest blogger either, but thanks for reading my posts. I really enjoy your blog too. Thanks for the invitation. I will be watching for new posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

