Dandelion Flower Cookie Recipe

100_8488

“The owner’s servants came to him and said, ‘Sir, didn’t you sow good seed in your field? Where then did the weeds come from?’ Matthew 13:27

I have so many dandelions this year! My front lawn is yellow, with a little grass, instead of green with a few dandelions. This is not uncommon. Several years ago, I looked for recipes, because I don’t believe in using harmful chemicals on my lawn to kill the undesirables. I see so many honey bees all over the flower heads, and I know that spraying could harm them.

One of the recipes I found was for Herbal tea, using dandelion heads. I looked for the recipe again, and couldn’t find it. I think I poured boiling water over the heads in a canner type pot. I left them sit for a day, and strained the liquid. I added some honey, cinnamon, cloves, and some other spice, maybe ginger? It was concentrated, and I bottled it, and put it in the fridge. When I wanted tea, I just added some of this to hot water, or drank it cold, and it was really good.

This year, I found a wonderful, really good recipe for dandelion cookies.

I substituted gluten free Hodgson Mill Yellow Cake Mix for the flour. (Likely that any gluten free cake mix would work)

Here is the recipe:

1/2 c. coconut oil

1/2 c. honey

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup unbleached unbromated flour or gluten free flour mix,  (I substituted about 2 cups of the gluten free cake flour)

1 cup dry oatmeal

1/2 cup dandelion flower petals

(This recipe came from Hannah at ‘Preparing for our Children’s Future‘.

Preheat oven to 375

Mix the oil and honey, then beat in eggs and vanilla.

Remove the yellow flower parts from the green parts (compost the green parts, as they taste a little bitter.)

Stir in the flour, oatmeal, and dandelion flowers.

Drop the batter by tablespoonfuls onto an oiled cookie sheet.

Bake for about 10 minutes, or lightly browned.

Cool and enjoy!

These cookies are amazing!

One other thing you can do with dandelions is gather the heads, wash them in a little baking soda water. Dip the heads in egg, then roll them in a spiced flour (flour, garlic, pepper, salt, etc.) Fry in Olive oil on medium heat until brown and crisp, or until you think they are done.

Dear God, I thank you for the dandelions too. They are beneficial and useful. The cookies were great! In the name of Jesus, thanks again. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Dandelion Flower Cookie Recipe

Leave a Reply

