I Found an Antler in the Woods:

antler

Isaiah 40 1-31

Do you not know?
    Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
    and his understanding no one can fathom.
29 He gives strength to the weary
    and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
    and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

I went for a walk with my dogs this afternoon. I found my first antler. We have lived here over twenty years, and I worked in the woods for seven seasons, but this is a first. I was so excited, I said a prayer of thanks.

I was looking for mushrooms, and saw a nice tall tree with something beside it. It was the antler in the picture above.

It was small, and my husband found a large one several years ago, but still it was kind of like a little treasure.

Did you know that weak or injured deer lose their antlers earlier than the healthy ones? The deer lose antlers when their testosterone levels drop after rutting season, sometime after January.

The antlers can be strong one day, and become weak the next.

A great article that explains the process is found here: http://www.grandviewoutdoors.com/articles/4308-why-do-deer-shed-their-antlers#sthash.fWRkDt8r.dpbs

The article also explained that the antlers feed off the ‘velvet’ or soft membrane, on the outer surface.

According to the article, this velvet contains many substances such as amino acids, minerals, proteins and Growth Factor-1 (a protein hormone similar in molecular structure to insulin)

The antlers will grow rapidly for two to four months. During the summer, higher levels of the male hormone testosterone slow antler growth, and the veins and arteries around the velvet constrict and cut off the blood and nutrient supply to the antlers. The velvet then withers and begins to fall off, a process facilitated by the deer by rubbing his antlers against trees. The whole process is repeated every year for the rest of his life.

Even those strong antlers get tired and weary! Like the verses above,  Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Dear God, Your creation is amazing! Even the process of deer losing their antlers is an organized planned event. You did not make things is a disorganized, haphazard way. Everything was created with purpose. I delight in Your creation. Today, I saw a couple elk, a red headed woodpecker, wildflowers, and found this antler. It was like a little treasure to take home, and ponder Your creation. I pray for encouragement and strength for my Christian brothers and sisters. I pray for Your will to be done. I ask for workers for the harvest, and I am so grateful to You for everything!!! In the name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

Psalm 42

As the deer pants for streams of water,
    so my soul pants for you, my God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.

2 thoughts on “I Found an Antler in the Woods:

  1. A great article and sync with the verses. Living on the farm I know deer grow their antlers in a short period of time for rut, and then lose them after the rut. We find an antler now and then. Most of the time our dogs find them. Among other things. The article was interesting information. Thank you for the prayer and your post. Have a good weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was a little surprised that my dogs didn’t find it first too. They were a little hurt that I didn’t give it to them afterwards. It was a fun walk! Have a great weekend also!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

