A Cavity in Disguise:

Psalm 139

27 “Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs which indeed appear beautiful outwardly, but inside are full of dead men’s bones and all uncleanness. 28 Even so you also outwardly appear righteous to men, but inside you are full of hypocrisy and lawlessness. Matthew 23:27,28

This afternoon, I had to take my son to the dentist. He previously had x-rays that showed he had a cavity.

After drilling into the tooth, the dentist found that the cavity was even worse than he thought. He filled the tooth, but decay was still there, and advised us to see a different dentist who could do a root canal.

I was disappointed, as I had hoped for my son’s sake, that it would be an easy process. The tooth looked great on the outside, and even the x-rays showed only light cavity spots inside.

More work, more expense, and more discomfort for my son was not what I had prayed for. We will also need antibiotics and pain medicine.

That tooth that looked so great on the outside caused a lot of trouble!

Some pain was my son’s first indication that not all was right with his teeth. Hot and cold drinks really affected the tooth.

After the x-rays the problem was somewhat revealed, but it was not until the tooth was drilled and the inside was exposed, that the problem was pinpointed.

This reminds me of the Pharisees of Jesus’s time. The Lord was able to see like an x-ray, into their hearts. Jesus pinpointed their problem. They were found to be white-washed tombs that looked good on the outside, but on the inside they were full of uncleanness.

David prayed in Psalm 139:

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:

24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Dear God, this dentist appointment was a reminder to me, that even though everything looks good on the outside, it it the inside that is important to You. Like David, I pray that You would search me, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: and see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting. Forgive me for my sins. Let Your will be done. In Jesus’s name, Amen.

-Dawn-

One thought on “A Cavity in Disguise:

  1. Jeremiah 17:10
    “I the LORD search the heart and examine the mind, to reward each person according to their conduct, according to what their deeds deserve.”

    An excellent post, Dawn…

    ~Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

