Sin Condemns any People:

Righteousness exalts a nation,
    but sin condemns any people. Proverbs 14:34

But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God— having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.2 Timothy 3:1-5

I guess we are to expect bad behavior to happen, but today, I was missing some of the innocence of childhood long ago.

I thought about a Christmas program, the Nativity Story, in a little school back in North Dakota in 1976. I played the part of Mary when I was twelve-years-old.–Mostly because I was not a public speaker, and Mary didn’t have to say anything.

As a kid, I remember watching the various shows, like Mr. Green Jeans, Gilligan’s Island, The Loony Tunes, The Lucy Show, and Carol Burnett Show. There were fun family Walt Disney movies that I would watch with my brother and sisters. We laughed and cried together over many.

I thought of family meals together, with grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles.

While the adults played cards and talked, we children played at the park, and made up skits, found old treasures, and explored. We played in the old barn. We rang an old church bell, and ran away from the noise. We made mud pies, swam in ponds, and at night, we all slept on the floor in the living room.

We ate together, played together, and prayed together.

There were squabbles, and not everything was perfect. There was drinking, and there was some fighting, but we were still a family. Somehow the sense of family and innocence seems so far away.

Our nation could be a righteous nation if people would acknowledge God, and choose to follow the ten commandments, and the laws that God gave to man. If they would repent and turn from their sins. If only people could see the results that sin has already caused; families that are broken, children who are unwanted, mistreated, unloved, elderly who are not cared for. Greed has caused our nation to suffer, along with selfishness, and a lack of love for others.

God is the giver of good gifts, and He rewards righteousness. For the sake of our posterity, I pray that unbelievers would see their need for a Savior, and that the incoming tide of evil would be turned back. I also pray that believers would live out an active, living, vibrant faith, that will make a difference in this world. I pray that especially for me.

Dear God, Paul told Timothy about the end times, and how corrupt people would be. So many things point to your return being near. I have such a longing for a better home. The worse the world gets, the more I long for You. There is still work to be done, and I pray that as long as I am alive, that I would live for You. I pray for Your will, and for workers for the harvest. In the Wonderful Name of Jesus, Amen.

-Dawn-

Leave a Reply

